Incubating Duck Eggs Day 6, T - 22

in #homesteading6 years ago

I weighed and candled the Duck eggs today. My attempt to increase the humidity and slow the weight loss of the eggs worked better than expected. They now weigh 2lb 4.1oz. The target weight was 2lb 3.89oz. That works out to +0.013oz above the target weight so pretty much right on target.

VID_20190128_1761630974649449477.jpg

I candled a few eggs at random. They are noticeably different than they were just 3 days ago. The dark patch takes up almost 1/2 of the egg now and you can see what look like blood vessles forming.

Candling Duck Eggs Day 6_20190128_6535136389536405365.jpg

The "main" water tray had just a little bit of water left and the "second" tray was dry as expected. The incubator instructions say you need to check the water every three days which is exactly what I'm seeing. RTFM (Read The Fricken Manual) as they say..

I'll be back in another three days with a weight update and a candle photo or two.

When the eggs start to hatch I will LIVE Stream it on vimm.tv on our Mean Rooster Farm channel. Make sure to check out the live feed. We currently have a "Puppy Cam" with six, 6 day old PUPPIES! Their eyes should be opening in the next day or two, then the live puppy feed will be much more exciting. The LIVE Goats, Chickens, Ducks, Geese, Dogs and Cats are pretty entertaining, even if the puppies aren't yet.

Sort:  

Hello @meanbees! Thanks for this cool post. I liked it so much that I included it in my curation post https://steempeak.com/payitforward/@stortebeker/look-what-i-found-on-the-homestead
and shared it with @pifc for their curation contest:
https://steempeak.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-43-pay-it-forward-curation-contest
Cheers,

Thank you!
It's nice to see that someone is actually enjoying my posts. I will head over to @pifc now and check it out.

I'm trying to post updates about the duck eggs every 3 days with a candleing photo or two. I want to make visual record of what to expect and when, so others can have a reference if they decide to incubate their own eggs.

As for the live stream, I put up a few cameras in the barn when we were expecting baby goats. We had so much fun watching the animals that I had to add more cameras. Since I had all the equipment already setup for my own enjoyment adding a Live Stream and sharing it with everyone else was an obvious next step.

HI @meanbees! Great post. Love the Ducky Cam 😁 Thank you for sharing this.

You were featured in week 43 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @stortebeker.

Thanks! Baby ducks are so cute. I can't wait until they hatch and I can do a live stream of them too.

How cool! What's the reason for hatching the eggs like that? I mean, is there any advantage over the natural method?

I've found your post because @stortebeker featured it on his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Timing, I have a motivation to hatch the ducks early. The Ducks wont be naturally hatching eggs until it starts to get warmer here. It will be at least another month before they start thinking about it. They also have a better survival rate if they are hand raised. Duck moms aren't the best moms on the farm.

Ah, I see. thanks for the explanation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56