You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Your Own Food Doesn't Seem Crazy Now

in #homesteading4 years ago

I'm on year 3 of turning into a homesteader and becoming self-sufficient. All this craziness with people panic buying the grocery stores out has really made me reflect on the importance of being self-sufficient. I really liked the video. Right now I'm researching making my own greenhouse and you gave me some ideas about how to regulate temperatures which was where I was stumped. I do all my seed starting in the kitchen but with a toddler and cats it's hard to keep my plants safe. I want to move everything outside into a greenhouse. I'm still in the early stages of learning. Year one we focused on learning to garden in general. Year two I bought ducks and expanded our garden. Year three I'm learning to hatch ducklings now and want to learn to can and preserve food. It really is just a learn as you go process. It's nice to find fellow Steemians like you with great tips and advice to help others like me.

Sort:  

The process of learning takes a while too because there are so many things to work on. We have been canning for two years now. I still need to learn pressure canning, we also got a dehydrator and starting learning how to do that but I wouldn't say I'm anywhere near where I want to be for saving food. I got 3 little ones and the boys are 1 and 3 so I get the plants not being safe haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71