Tomatillo Salsa Verde ~ From Our Gardens

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0973.JPG

This Is A VERY Simple Recipe

IMG_0967.JPG

Step 1: Take the husks off the tomatillos (or employ your children :) )

IMG_0968.JPG

IMG_0971.JPG

IMG_0974.JPG

Step 2: Get a pot of water boiling...

Once it reaches a boil put in the tomatillos, turn down to simmer for 5 minutes.

IMG_0976.JPG

Step 3: Cut up your other ingredients while you wait...

I'm using hot peppers and tomatoes from our garden. Unfortunately the onions and garlic I grew this year are already long gone, so onions and garlic from the store boooo! Hahahaa!

IMG_0972.JPG

IMG_0975.JPG

Step 4: Throw it all in the food processor with some salt and pulse until you reach desired texture...

IMG_0977.JPG

VOILA!

IMG_0979.JPG

Now obviously you could add a lot more ingredients to this, some people love cilantro, cumin, black pepper. I just worked with what I had in the kitchen. There's no fancy photo of us enjoying this salsa with some chips because we don't have any tortilla chips right now either hahaha! You'll have to use your imagination.

Here is the recipe I used as a guideline:

Tomatillo Salsa Recipe

IMG_0978.JPG

Enjoy!

Sort:  

The garden in amazing results,

Thank you my friend!

I'm growing some cherry tomatoes again this year. They've just started flowering.

Wow....where do you live if you don't mind me asking~??

I'm in Melbourne, Australia. It's spring here!

Ahhh wonderful!! Happy Spring :) xoxoxo

Nice recipe, how about a taste?

You bring the tortillas and we'll try it together! :)

He.. He... Thank you

Yummy! Super healthy and all home grown. Awesome babe. 😉

Thank you Ser!

It's fantastically delicious!!!!

Yeah, nachos supreme tonight? With shredded homestead chicken?

I have to tell you... I saw your tomatillo harvest post earlier this week and it inspired me to add a plant or two to my garden for next year.

Yes, you are truly an inspiration to me!

That's wicked awesome @goldendawne! You will love the beauty of the tomatillo plant!

One of my personal favorites!

With a name like @papa-pepper, I could see that! :) :) :)

Looks super tasty. We had a fair crop of tomatoes this year - but not brilliant - hopefully more next year with the polytunnel.

Still got a few green ones turning - but they are good enough for eating raw in salads.

The polytunnel will make all the difference :) You're in a wet/windy climate right? Toms hate getting their foliage wet.

Simple is often best. Are you planning on growing a lot more onions and garlic next season?

Yes, definitely going to be growing a lot more this year. Getting garlic in the ground really soon.

How about you?

I guess you can grow them in pots, but our apartment is just too small. I have great plans though for when we get land some day.

That is a basket full of goodness. Great that you turn it all into a delicious salsa. Looks yum!

We're looking forward to trying it tonight with some nachos! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67