You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I AM EGGSTREMELY EGGCITED GUYS!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Wayyyy to Go!!! It looks pretty big for an easter egger egg...wow that was hard to say LOL. We have a bunch of easter egger hens, and the ones that lay the pale pink/taupe colour, are smaller than that egg. I can't wait to see your first easter egg! Praying you get a blue or a green those are the bestest, and yes, you will NOT want to crack it either, more like frame it.

Also LOL to calling them turds! That CRACKED me up.

Sort:  

HAHaha hens was doing my research, Easter Eggers are supposed to lay L/XL eggs. But these are small eggies! About size medium that you'd buy from the grocery store. They're just starting laying, but I'd be happy with any size, really! Hard to say with EEs tho, since they're mutts. Haha I wonder when mine will lay. I know that can be anywhere from now to a year old! Stupid mutts. Hahaha

Are you sure your EEs aren't bantams?!

Hahah I'm thinking this is an australorp egg, to be honest!

I can't wait for the colored eggs! C'mon ladies!!

Hmm...maybe the egg just looked big in your hand then. Yes, I'm sure they are easter eggers, one lays green, two lay pink, and one lays a pink-taupe colour <3 They are small birds though that could be why I find their eggs to be small.

Fingers crossed for you to get coloured eggies!

Here are some of their eggs with our Leghorn's eggs.

I totally missed this pic the other day! What a beautiful sight! Hehe can't wait!

I can't wait for you to start having fresh, colourful eggs every day either. Just exciting as hell. We have a bunch of 3 month old's and I know the feeling, some of our older hens have stopped laying, so it will be nice to have some fresh girls laying. We still don't know who are roosters and who are hens yet, it's all a waiting game!

Oooh I mean, there's such thing as Bantam Chickens! Just a mini version of whatever "breed"! You could have bantam easter eggers! <3

Oooh awesome, I just learned something new! Thanks for teaching me some lingo, yes, they may very well be bantams :) Cool, yeah, my neighbour has an easter egger hen, and she's pretty big, all makes sense now :)

Hahah yeah!! You should share them in a post, if you haven't already! Would love to see them! <3

Will do! 2 have just hatched eggs, and the other 2 are still brooding on theirs. It's apparently a great breed to go broody! 4/4 have all been Mothers, 1/4 has been a Mom 3 times since we had her, and another is on her second time! Broody-Machines!

Hehehehe I think it's the Bantam in them! Silkies are broody freaks also! And they're a bantam breed. How exciting! Do you sell chicks?

We may have to start, it's just that we can never seem to part with any of them. We have a pretty large run and coop, but when it starts getting too cozy, we will have to start parting with chicks, either that, or like my husband said, we'll just make the run bigger and add another coop LOL! #ChickenHoarders

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45