You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Mother's Day and happy a #sublimesunday in the garden dreaming of my projects.

in #homesteading6 years ago

WHOOAAAA!! Awesome Post!! Thank you for the tour around. Those roses are to die for, and I had no clue about succulents being great by the sea, I have to get on those. We have to stake our gladiolas too, I like the method you are going to try with them this year, looking forward to seeing the results.

Sort:  

OH, @lyndsaybowes, you have to get succulents. They are the best. They are obviously grown for their foliage, though some will flower, but they come in so many interesting shapes and colors and are so easy to propogate.

They grow in hot low water high wind places like high up on windy mountains or in hot dessert areas. I have even transplanted some of our native succulents from our beach up into my succulent bed near the house and they do fine. They store water in their waxy leaves so as long as you don't over water them and they like free draining rather poor nutrient soil, so great in shallow pots. Mind made it through this winter out in those cement pots under snow in and 10 below 0 F weather. You'll get hooked when you buy your first one. :)

Oooh that's so awesome, many people here have them as house plants, I don't see them in gardens very often, definitely going to give it a shot, I have a LOT of poor nutrient soil by the ocean hahaha!

In the US the most popular are called "hen and chicks" in the UK they use the proper latin name sempervivum or house leeks. These are a good 'gateway' plant into succulents. They are low growing and cool almost geometric and you can just pull off their little 'chicks' (babies) and put in a pot of grit and low quality soil with good drainage and they root. They are very hard to kill. SO many varieties though and great colours cool blue/green, bright chartreuse. Check them out!

Awwww!! They sound amazing too haha! I bet we use the latin name here in Canada, I don't know what looks I'd get if I asked the garden store for hen and chicks hahaha!!

I'm not sure why, but Americans tend to use the old 'common name' for things whilst in the UK you use the latin. I like both, really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79