I Started Up This Year's Apple Cider Vinegar Today!

in #homesteading7 years ago

How To Make Your Own ACV

This is probably one of the easiest things to make from scratch, if I could do it, you can too! Even my Gramma Anne was impressed that I could make my own vinegar, and when I told her how it's done she couldn't believe how simple it was.

Photo on 2017-10-27 at 9.33 PM #5.jpg

I still have 4 Litres left over from last year's batch which will probably last me until December, right when this new batch I started today is ready. I use ACV for all sorts of things, from my bun recipe, to cleaning, and it has removed warts off of our two youngest sons' fingers! That's right, all you do is dab a bit of ACV on a bandaid, and have them wear it for 24 hours on the wart, then wash and wear a bandaid with vitamin e oil for the next 24. Keep repeating until it's gone.

Step 1: Get Some Apples

IMG_0745.JPG

Or get your kids to or whatnot...

IMG_0765.JPG

IMG_0759.JPG

IMG_0748.JPG

I make ACV in the fall because we are blessed to have 11 apple trees on the land we rent. They're not the greatest for eating, very tart and the bugs get em a lot, but they are great for this purpose! (And I've been known to make an apple crisp or 15 with them too...) You don't have to use whole apples if they're not in abundance where you live. You can make ACV with apple peels and cores. I'll leave a link at the end where it will explain how.

IMG_0764.JPG

Step 2: Wash The Apples

I actually let mine soak in the sink for 10 minutes with water and 1 Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar hahahaha...

IMG_0816.JPG

Step 3: Cut The Apples

You want your pieces to be about 1 inch cubes. It's better to have bigger cubes than smaller.

IMG_0817.JPG

Step 4: Fill Your Clean, Food Safe Container

How much ACV you want will dictate the type of container you use. I make enough to last our family one year, so I use a 5 gallon bucket (the kind you would brew wine or beer in).

IMG_0818.JPG

Stems, seeds, it don't matter, it all goes in!

IMG_0831.JPG

Step 5: Add Water To Your Apples

Submerge the apples until the water is Just over the apples when you press them down.

IMG_0832.JPG

Step 6: Add Sugar

Recipe: One cup of sugar to One gallon of apple/water mixture. I had 3 gallons so I put in 3 cups of sugar.

IMG_0830.JPG

IMG_0836.JPG

Add sugar slowly and stir well until all sugar is dissolved.

Step 7: Cover With Something Breathable

IMG_0837.JPG

Step 8: Stir 2 Times Per Day, For 14 Days


A video I made last year showing these first steps.

The Last Step: Patience & Time

After the 14 days of stirring twice a day, all you do is strain the mixture into another container, or many smaller containers, cover with a breathable material, and wait. It takes me about 3 months until it turns to vinegar. I've read that if you use scraps, your ACV can be ready within a month after the transfer.

This is my third year making my own apple cider vinegar, I originally learned how from this recipe, it also explains how to make ACV from apple scraps READ >>> How To Make Your Own Apple Cider Vinegar

IMG_0776.JPG

Here's @eddiebowes dabbing with a chicken. Why you ask? You should really be asking...

IMG_0774.JPG

Why Not?

Sort:  

@lyndsaybowes
you just inspired me... you truly a great steemian and mum... imagine using your local home remedy to treat warts and educating us on the simple ways of making ACV.. this is a great source of organic ACV very good for a lot of health issues both good for ladies hygeine ( against yeast infections) and eliminates free radicals etc. will start collecting scraps to try this out... thanks for sharing and keep it coming. Upped & following for more...

That's awesome Ken, I'm so happy that you will be making your own, and it's very very fail proof. :) :) :) Thanks for letting me know I inspired you!

AHA much easier than what I was doing. I thought you had to juice the apples first, as the tutorial I had said to use juice, so when I made some the first time I bought a jar of apple juice and that worked. It wasn't any cheaper than just buying a jug and there was still a jug in the recycling bin, but it worked. The second time it MOLDED and I was sad. Then I stopped doing it because why not just buy it if I was buying apple juice to do it? I thought about gathering apples or crabapples and trying to run them through a food processor, but wasn't sure if that would be good enough. So glad to know your method instead! Now I wonder if anybody in the neighborhood has any apples they don't use left...

Ooh right on @phoenixwren, I'm so happy I was able to help! Happy Apple Hunting! Sending out good vibes that some find you <3

Great recipe. Much better than the stupid one I tried last year.

I'm gonna do your recipe, but with the scraps from the apples our family eats ( except me because I eat everything but the stem lol). I'll collect and freeze them til I have enough to do a batch.

Thanks easy step by step instructions.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyndsaybowes to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great to hear, and do tell me how long it ends up taking you to make the ACV using the scraps.

Will do. Shouldn't take very long because we do eat a lot of apples here. lol

Kind of like making wine, except you don't have to worry so much about cleanliness, and you don't use a yeast.

Yeah totally! It's so easy not even I could screw it up :D :D

That's actually remarkably simple... we always end up with lots of apples (we only have four trees, but they are very "ambitious") after canning, pies and so forth and this seems like a really good use for some of the extras.

And yes, ACV is good for so many things... my wife completely got rid of her ulcer from taking a little every day. Nature has everything we need to heal ourselves.

Thanks for sharing!

Wow cured an ulcer from ACV~ That is AMAZING!! Nature provides, you got it!!

I'm happy I could give you a way to use up the left over, imperfect apples!!

Wow! That's so cool! I just learned something new that I didn't know I didn't know.

Great! I hope you can use the recipe one day!

I've never made such a big batch and have had mixed results with my smaller batches. I've never added sugar though. Once we have more space I will have to do a big one with sugar and see how it turns out.

Oooh wow!! And I've never heard of anyone making it without a sugar of some kind. Interesting...

Well, who knew? I sure didn't!

Many thanks for this post. Most 'gurus' say only buy ACV with the 'mother?'

Does this interesting diy version eradicate the need for this?

Many thanks!

Peace.

You will grow your own mother :) :) :) It starts to form in the second stage of making your vinegar :) <3 <3 Very fun to watch grow!

Wow @lyndsaybowes.

Now, I will have to add this 'experiment' to my Kombucha scoby 'list'.

This is so cool; and, eyeopening at the same time.

Many thanks!

Peace.

I hope it goes good for you :)

LOL - Dabbing with a chicken. That's the sort of irreverent humor that compels me to upvote. :)

Why, thank you :)

I didnt do any this year! Off apple season. Next year 😉 yours looks great!!

Looks like you got enough on your plate anyways woman! Wow... <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 Can't believe how much you have done and are doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41