100% of These Rewards go to Fundraising #5 ~~ Grow Food Not Lawns Canada (June 2018) Greenhouse Update

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

The recipient of this post's Liquid STEEM, SBD and STEEM POWER is @fishyculture. She is raising funds to help an awesome Steemit couple who have been through hell and need our help. Read about the fundraiser and have a chance to win some cool art: The Art of QuietBear - Raffle Begins Tomorrow! (Full Story Here!).

In the Garden

IMG_7894.JPG

It's strawberry time!

IMG_7893.JPG

And as you can see behind the boys it's a total jungle in those beds. I still have a lot of weeding to do, one square at a time I will get there.

IMG_7890.JPG

Funny Faces

IMG_7891.JPG

That's what you get when you pick the unripe ones Stryder :)

IMG_7892.JPG

Lulz!

Made a Wicked Trade

6 dozen eggs for a bunch of transplants! Tomatoes, tomatillos, ground cherries, cucumber, basil, celery, cucamelon, squash, hot peppers and eggplant. I'm so thrilled and it really got me going. I had the small greenhouse weeded and prepared in no time flat, I was so filled with energy from the prospect of more foooooooood!

IMG_7895.JPG

IMG_7896.JPG

Basil

IMG_7899.JPG

The greenhouse is weeded and my watering can is ready, let's do this!

Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 11.07.51 PM.png

Front Lawn Greenhouse Before

IMG_7900.JPG

IMG_7899.JPG

After

IMG_7901.JPG

IMG_7903.JPG

I can't wait to watch them take over the greenhouse...

IMG_7904.JPG

I Finally Gave My Oregano a Haircut

IMG_7875.JPG

Edgar was halping me.

IMG_7876.JPG

iz halping

IMG_7879.JPG

Yes, start grooming yourself beside the oregano lol...

IMG_7885.JPG

All in all a pretty sweet haul! I hope you're having a great gardening season too.

I wish you abundance.

Sort:  

Hey @lyndsaybowes loving your bountiful produce and those strawberries look amazing! I bet they taste it as well .. the ripe ones that is lol Loving the basil .. I have some mint growing at the moment .. I love it :) I really enjoying trading food etc .. so good to build communities, you can see where society took a wrong turn. Thank you for sharing my friend!

Oooh yay that's awesome, what will you do with the mint?

Hey @lyndsaybowes I'm going to make a nice sauce .. plus I'm keeping loads back to make a tincture! Perhaps with organic honey as I think the reaction between the two will be awesome and have real health benefits. I've made a stinging nettle tincture as well .. plus a dandelion root tincture will be made before the end of summer and I've just made one from honey, tumeric, freshly squeezed organic lemon juice (and rind), plus loads of garlic! I love making medicines and health elixirs from all the amazing plants and herbs that surround us.

Omg I hope the future holds some @perceptualflaws, how to Elixer !!!! I would just love to see you do the process!!

How lovely you have a cat that moves around lol. Strawberries..oh my we must do a tradesy....xx they look so very good

Omg the boys go to the patch every day and devour everything in site hahhaaa....I will try to get them to save a few for Oma <3 <3

tell them I have windmill cookies to trade

Those chicken bitches are earning their keep. :-)

Hi Lyndsay, I love that egg trade!

We've been getting a surplus of eggs again - but alas everyone round here seems to be keeping chickens now...


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Oooh no hahhaa, isn't that just the way it goes eh? At least you've been such an inspiration in your community that everyone's getting self sufficient!

Question: If I do a fundraising post for A Dollar A Day would that be cool? Then you could just put it wherever it needs to go?

Hi Lyndsay, that would excellent if you would like to do a fundraising post for A Dollar A Day, thank you.

There are many great projects we are supporting that would be most grateful.

And if you come across any suitable projects that are looking for funding do point them in my direction.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Now, I want to eat pizza with your oregano. 100% for the fishy culture.

Ooooh that's so sweet of you, thanks!!

Hey, if you bring the pizza...I'll supply all the oregano you want! xo

Right, lemme see from Austria to Canada...Mmmhh...DHL and back. Damn, when I visit Canada one day I will let you know :)

Damn is right, that's one expensive pizza!! (unless steem goes to the moon of course) :D :D :D :D :D

What an awesomely productive time you have had. You swapping a bunch of eggs for plants is very cool too. Barter is so satisfying. Everything looks great all planted up. I look forward to updates on all this veg. 👏👏👏👏good luck and blessings to @fishyculture too! ❤️

Thanks for the support and encouragement SallyBeth! I can't wait to show you guys the absolute food jungle that our yard will be come a few months time!!!

WOW that's a lot of oregano! Good job halping, Edgar! What an awesome thing to be able to trade like that!! Yay full greenhouse!

Yesss hahahaaa halping I love that word hahaha another beauty that you coined <3 <3 <3 I always think of you when the animals are halping me....

Oh I'm sure I got it from lolspeak and didn't coin it, lol.

There are so many strawberries. Child got fun ate berries. Those greenhouse growing much better. It's best vision y'll have seen. In future definitely get more food harvest.

Thanks Madushanka, do you grow strawberries there or is it too hot?

We have only one place can growing Strawberries. But my village can't grow coz hot weather condition.

I love how you're supporting the community! I have found you through @sallybeth23 Steemit birthday post. I'm so happy that I did as I love to support posts like yours! Keep it up!

I see that you're enjoying gardening a lot! I have never seen so much oregano altogether! :)

Looking forward to your posts!

Thank you so much for finding my page, and isn't SallyBeth just the greatest??!!! <3 <3 So good to meet you @delishtreats.

That oregano is very out of control haha, it's a 3 year old plant that is taking over one of my front beds and I'm letting it, so awesome to have dried oregano all year long from our own garden!!

Oh yes, she is! :) It is nice to meet you too!

There is never enough of oregano :) actually I would love to have all of the herbs growing out of control in front of my door :)

nice photo....awesome to look at those stoberies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68