Save Money With The Best Home Made Powder Laundry Soap/ Detergent Safe For Your HE Machine

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

This is not my recipe and I do not remember where I got it but I have been using this for about 6 months. I love the Tide Pods in my HE machine but they are very expensive. In the past I made the liquid washing soap but I really did not like making it. This dry mix is easier to make and does a fine job. One recipe last me a year and I do about 2 loads a day. Depending on your load you use 1 to 3 tablespoons. I do not need any added softeners. It works great in my HE machine and it is always totally dissolved even in cold water.

Mixing the ingredients so they are well mixed is the hardest part. I take a 5 gal. bucket and add each of the ingredients in small amounts mixing them as I go. Some people put all the ingredients in two plastic garbage bags, one inside the other and then mix by rolling the bag around. Of course you could always make a 1/4 or 1/2 recipe. You can purchase all of the ingredients from Walmart but I had to get the BIZ on line.

1 65 oz Borax
1 55 oz box Washing Soda (not baking soda)
1 4 lb box Baking Soda
1 60 oz BIZ (BIZ is enzymes and helps to remove organic stains) If you leave out the BIZ you will save about $7
1 5 lb (80oz) Oxi Clean
1 1-2 lb bag of Foca (you can use any detergent you want)
Your total cost should be about $30.
If you want to add something to make it smell like flowers you can add Purex Crystals.

If you have any questions, please ask.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52