Bokashi Composting Part 2: Using the liquid 'waste'

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

bokashiliquid.jpg

The liquid from the bottom of the bin

Over the last year, I've been experimenting with Bokashi composting. A lot of claims have been made online about this anaerobic composting method.

I was thinking about uses for the thick, sometimes sticky, liquid that collects at the bottom of the bin. It must be full of all kinds of good stuff - microbes and nutrients and their organic waste, plus whatever filters down from the scraps during the process.

I saw online that it could be used for unclogging drains. The claim I saw was that the Effective Micro-organisms (EM) that do the work in the Bokashi composting method can colonize drains and help remove and prevent clogging.

We've had frequent trouble with this in the past, so I gave it a go.

Once a week, for two weeks, I drained off the liquid from the Bokashi bin and poured it down the most troublesome drains - the bathroom and laundry.

The verdict? It works! After the two weeks, we noticed a distinct improvement in the rate of water leaving our bathtub. The next week, all was clear.

I have unclogged all of our drains using no other method beside using the Bokashi liquid. No manual removal of clogs, no other drain cleaners, just this wonderful liquid. A maintenance dose once a week keeps things flowing nicely

The interesting thing is that the liquid that comes in the spray bottle doesn't do nearly such a good job. I let the drains clog again over the next month and tried the store bought stuff. No joy.

I'm a Bokashi convert, even if it is just for this!

Find links to my other Bokashi posts on Steemit in this Bokashi Index Post

or check our more info on our blog

Sort:  

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

waaao!! An application of bokashi I didn't know! I liked your post

thank you very much! There's more to come

I wish I had access to this stuff. I use draino about once a month in my bathroom and I hate pouring all those chemicals down the sink.

Its so easy to get. If you have a friend doing bokashi composting, they will always have some to give away!

Congratulations @ligayagardener! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69