The Quarreling Quail.

Quarreling_Quail.jpg

I think I must have the worlds most difficult quail.

There was a pretty big incident in the coop last week, Penguin one of the two super sweet quail that sit in my lap and are pretty much pets was badly injured by one of the other quail. Someone had pecked her eyes, and I wasn't sure if she would be blind for five days. I hand feed her and sat in anguish that I hadn't taken care of the overactive males. So out those little jerks went, the blond brothers, Thor and Gambit. Harley Quinn could stay, he was so tiny if he bothered anyone he was easily stopped by any hen.

pingun.jpg
Penguin.

After a few sad days she was able to open her eyes and is back to her usual cheerful self. Nothing permanent, glad to have her back.

I realized I was going to have to pair out my quail.

Thor and Tweedle where first. Tweedle has gone crazy. She would shriek like a tiny pterodactyl then launch herself at other birds. I figured she could handle Thor.

I put them both in kennels facing each other for a few days to get used to the thought of being together. As soon as the where sleeping next to the doors, as close as they could get to each other I put them together.

It worked perfectly, they are so in love. Thor protects her from me every time I feed them by standing in front of her and puffing up. It is hilarious. One pairing down, three more to go.

Next it was going to be Gambit and EGGZILLA.

Frankly Gambit is the cutest quail I have ever seen, it is ridiculous. He has a little bib of white, and is super round and bright red with little short legs. I picked EGGZILLA for him because she thinks Harley Quinn is lame, puny and has a girls name. (I thought he was a hen for the first four months to be fair.)

EGGZILLA is the hen with a mustache. She also has horrible posture, she is always looks like she has a bit of a hunch. They are happy together.

The next to be matched up is Cricket. He is a bachelor for now.

It is crazy how aggressive these tiny cute birds are.

I was talking to my Mom about the quails being mean. Her boyfriend raises them too. She said they could take down a turkey in the wild. I'm skeptical they could do that, but can't deny they are able to inflict some serious damage on each other. I hope I really love hatching babies in the spring, because the males are the worst. They cause so many fights. My coop would be so peaceful without them. If I was just rising them for the eggs I would only have hens. It would cut out all the drama.

Another thing of interest is Miss Piggy changed color quite dramatically this past month. If you remember her she is the OG aggressive quail.

Miss_Piggy_s_first_day_at_the_homestead.jpg

It has been an adventure learning how to raise these little birds and grow food. The more I do It the more I realize how much practice and experience it takes to do it well. Life is such a wonderful adventure, I am grateful.

Thanks for reading my blog, if you liked this post lets be friends and follow me.

Big Love

Ren

Sort:  

Didn't know this post was going to be a #steemyromance story. Its like Jersey Shore in the cages. Love, drama, fights, every day.

Hahaha! It is so true, its like a cheesy romance novel. So much drama, Quail Shores. LOL

Always an adventure with these guys it seems huh? I guess though if there is a bright side, there's always something to do, something to iterate on and improve, and I'm sure you're learning TONS! You'll get there- I hope these pairs work out together <3

They do keep me busy and entertained! I have been learning a lot, I feel like I am well on my way to expert. I have high hopes for the pairs too. Hope you are having a wonderful snowy, magical day!

hehe it was SO lazy and lovely- really needed a "nothing" day you know?<3

Poor gambit is stuck with a huge,hunchback, mustachio wearing girl :)) I think you reversed their names in the gif. I like how you portray their lives as a sort of soap opera - it's the young and the restless with quails :))
P.s sorry if I spammed you with memes from my other account yesterday, I wanted to find out if I uploaded a lot of memes if I might get an upvote from their bot .

EGGZILLA is strangely feminine despite the mustache....... And Gambit was playing a hen for a while, they balance each other out.

No meme flooding here, I did like the one I saw it was funny and true. Keep up all your blogging, great to see your blog taking off :)

Thank you for your encouragements :) I could have made it so far without your support

I think we may have quail this year! My daughters were oooh'ing and aww'ing your gifs and I mentioned to the husband that if we build a bigger chicken coop (like we want to) we could use the smaller one for quail. I got a smile and a nod!!!!! YESSSSS!!!

No way! That is awesome!!!!
I am excited for you, let me know when that happens!

Oh don't worry! I will probably post about it daily! Haha!

Awesome! I can't wait!

Quail rule! Looking forward to hearing more....

They do rule! Thank you for dropping by my blog @huntbook!

Wow, who knew cute little quail could be so scary!?
LOL
This was a fun story.... ♥

I am so glad you liked it! I was surprised by it as well.

For such cute looking little things, they can be real horrors! I have a male with bits of his eye lid missing, because he keeps fighting everyone. His eye was shut for about a week too.

Love Thor and Tweedle's romance!

I didn't realize quail could be vicious like that. I thought it was more of t a chicken thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69