My First Home Grown Watermelon!

20171019_162825.jpg

It is my first watermelon, I have tended this plant everyday since early spring when I planted it as a tiny seed. It grew and at one point I almost pulled it out because the plant looked sickly and I was deep down skeptical that I could grow a watermelon in my garden. I don't know why but I have very little faith in this plant in the beginning. I put off ripping the plant out a few times, then life came back and the vine was looking pretty good. Flowers, little fruit and then this huge beautiful melon.

20171019_162831.jpg

I almost didn't want to eat it and also put that off so I could look at it every morning, but a raccoon or skunk got a couple of my cantaloupe and I was NOT letting them have my watermelon!

20171019_112922.jpg
evidence of a melon eater in town.

I harvested the wondrous watermelon and ate it, and it was good.

20171019_163200.jpg

20171019_163905.jpg

And yes in case you were wondering, I did save the seeds. Next year we get to have a second generation of watermelon in the garden family.

20171019_222347.jpg

20171020_094935.jpg

When we stop and look at a cycle of life in its completion, something deep in us whispers. We feel and recognize it in our bones. It resets our soul to a different beat, the rhythm that all life gets down and funky to.

Thank you for reading my blog, if you like this post lets be friends and follow me.
Big Love
Ren

Sort:  

I also try to cultivate water melon.

Congratulations on your first watermelon baby!! It's so huge!! and looks delicious! I am also having my organic home gardening on my rooftop, I used recycled containers because I don't have any soil beds. It is such a rewarding feeling whenever you harvest something fresh from your garden.

That is fantastic! Wow! I am so excited about roof top garden, I really belive they are part of a more sustainable city life. I am proud of you for growing in the city! Do you have any pictures up? I would love to see it, I love urban gardens.

YES I DO HAVE PICTURES OF MY ROOFTOP GARDEN!! I don't know where to post it here LOL! Im just new, BTW I am having some plans of making my organic version of home gardening in a rooftop setting blog here in steemit. I will post it the soonest I can!

How did you prepare your soil, my melon was only 1 inch. lol

My soil is a work in progress. I started watering it more than I had been and that is what made it start to grow. Also we had a warm summer, seemed like it gained some weight in those warm months. Thanks for reading!

You are holding that watermelon like it's your baby :). Also where did those watermelon seeds come from? :))) ( I'm joking of course - if you don't get my immature joke it's ok )

I did grow it so I guess it is kinda like my baby, only not the eating part. Thanks for reading!

That is awesome! Congrats on your harvest

Thank you! Its giant pumpkins next year!

omgoodness! This baby looks so sweet! Congrats on your first watermelon harvest!

Thank you! I was so excited for this harvest, watermelons seem almost exotic :) Hope your travel preparations are going great!

yay!! I'm glad you got to eat it and not your outside critters!!

Me too! Thanks for reading @tiredmama!

That connection that a gardener has to the soil, the plants and consequently, the world around them, is incredible. I remember connecting with the bees when I had my garden...

That connection is truly unforgettable. The Bees are so special, I love being around them and how they interact as a tribe. Really amazing creatures. Thank you so much for reading my blog @debraycodes, hope you are having a wonderful day.

All good, keep pushing out good content!

Oh my gosh that looks amazing I would love to try growing watermelons I'm not sure if it's hot enough here in England tho, I still want to try tho I've got pineapple plant's that are doing ok and avocados so I might as well give it a shot. Good job saving the seeds I've been doing that with my beans 🍉🍉🍉 :-)

I can't believe your growing pineapple in England! That makes me really happy, now I have no excuse to try it. Do you have it in a greenhouse?

Thanks for reading my blog!

nice work. how did it taste?

Amazing! It was the juiciest thing I have ever met. Thanks for reading my blog!

Heirloom and organic! The only way I roll :) That is what real food is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94