Worm Farming - Feeding the Mealworms

in #homesteading6 years ago

KIMG3725.JPG

So today was our normal feeding day for mealworms. It actually is not really feeding since they eat the wheat bran substrate and the potatoes we fed today are actually for moisture.

KIMG3724.JPG

Potatoes, carrots, celery, squash and most any veggies will work well for a water source for the mealworms. We use whatever extra we need to get rid of but if nothing is available we use bulk bought potatoes. These piles of mealworms are swarming potato slices.

KIMG3718.JPG

These feedings run around every other day depending on how much feedstock is left available. By slicing or even pealing the feedstock it give more surface area for more worms to feed on and also keeps to much moisture from building up in the substrate which can cause mites.

KIMG3720.JPG

Here are my other articles on mealworms How To - https://steemit.com/mealworms/@liberyworms/farming-mealworms-how-to

Why to Farm Mealworms - https://steemit.com/mealworms/@liberyworms/why-farm-mealworms

Wonderful Benefits of Frass from Mealworm Farming - https://steemit.com/gardening/@liberyworms/benefits-of-frass-in-the-garden

Sort:  

There are too much! It's sooo interesting your hobby my friend, do you have a favorite worm? Or at least a favorite kind of them?

Thanks for sharing your excellent content, people use to talk about dogs, cats, cows, but they don't even mention these interesting animals, and they should, some fish are caught using them as bait, chickens eat them as well.

You're bringing us a good knowledge about a nice animal, I really appreciate it. See u soon mate

I like to call them micro livestock. Very easy to handle but any composting worm or mealworm will make great feed stock for any fish in aquaponics along with any chickens or birds and also works well for even hogs also if you have large enough production or a small amount of animals to feed. Black solider fly larva are also a fantastic feedstock and all these micro livestock can be raised on mostly waste products from small farms or homesteads giving a great feedstock for large livestock or even a product to sell and bring in money to the homestead at a low cost.

I see, I think I'll start a worm farm, I really like to see what you are doing and I'd like to see it closer. Thanks for answering bro'!

I have been wanting to do videos on Dtube but I can't get anything to upload and work on Dtube. I use worm wigwams for my larger commercial flow thru bins but for the price the urban worm bag is the best bought bin on the market. You can also start with something free like plastic totes or aquariums until your up and running to limit your investment. A lot of good worm groups on facebook. I run a mealworm farming group and a worm buy sell group there. Will be happy to do updates on the bins this week if I get time and go more in depth or answer any questions you have.

Microlivestock is the best name... hahaha this made me chuckle.

the publication is very good, there are worms that make cobwebs and there are people who manage them to produce silk fabrics

I have not gotten into those worms yet. I do 4 types of composting worms and mealworms and superworms right now. I will be adding black solider flies pretty soon. Thanks for the info though.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations @liberyworms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33