When You Know You Know. ..

in #homesteading5 years ago

20190616_184451.jpg

Have you even been riding down the road next to someone and here them say something like " Man that is a good looking pallet right there." and think to yourself what the heck would you do with that even though they have 100 answers about what they would do with it. I have found that since homesteading and worm farming I am not only that way with pallets but also with other odd things. One of these is cardboard boxes.

I look at a box and instantly know which pile it lands in. Anything covered in stickers or tape that is not easily removed of course goes into the burn pile but that is fine I have lots of stuff that hits the burn barrels I can use boxes to get started. Even things like the fireplace in my house or for making biochar I need fire starters.

The next category is for gardening. These are larger and thicker boxes that are not easy to shred but also cover a large area meaning I can use them under my compost and wood chips in new raised bed areas or even small food forest plots. Their main use is to keep the grass from growing threw and also supply carbon that will break down much faster then the wood chips would.

The 3rd category is for my worm bins. This are boxes that all the tape and stickers can be removed from that will be put threw the shredder and then wet down and added into my worm bins. These supply carbon into my bins and also act as bedding giving the worms a nice moist place to go. They can also be using into making compost if you are short on wood chips.

20190409_163628.jpg

The last group of boxes is what I use for my BSFL bins. These are thicker boxes that can be cut into small sections or rolled up leaving the open ends for the BSF to lay their eggs into. These are for harvesting my BSF eggs and starting new bins or even selling if someone is looking for eggs.

20190612_121050.jpg

20190612_121153.jpg

These are just a few things I use boxes for and their are endless uses that will help keep boxes out of land fills and left behind as waste. Where one person sees trash another person see treasure. Don't even get my started on pallets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34