Cornish Chicks Growing Fast....

in #homesteading5 years ago

These meat chicks I got are growing faster then any other meat chicks I had before. Granted I have given them plenty of extra space and they have quality feed available about 12 hours a day. I have only had them a little over 2 weeks and I was told they had just been delivered the day I picked them up so I would guess they are 4 weeks at the oldest if not 3 weeks. They were very tiny about what a week old chick would be that I am use to. They have gotten some of the wing feathers and a few butt feathers are poking out. I have had the heat off for last few days since they have been doing great without it and were showing more signs of being over heated then to cold. They are in 55 gal glass tanks which contain heat pretty well and it is usually 79 or so inside where they are.

I am looking to possible move them to an outside cage I retrofitted from one of my older rabbit cages this week since it is only around 70 degrees at night right now.

20190505_192638.jpg

This will give them so much more room since it is a 12 ft by 3 ft cage that is split into two cages. I have feeders that slide on the back from the rabbits to make it faster and easier to deal with. I just have to put the 16 ft tin roof back on and it is ready to roll. I wish that big heavy thing rolled atlest.

20190505_192705.jpg

I can't wait to get my 3 55 gal tanks empty again so I can get them ready for a batch of layer hens and a couple turkeys. I am thinking about pulling my commercial brooder out again and getting a batch of ducks this next go around but I think I will leave it where it is until I get the incubators down to start hatching our own this fall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90