How to Grow Shiit-Loads of Shiitakes #1 ~ Lunasi Micro-Enterprise Series [PHOTOS]

in #homesteading7 years ago

This morning we harvested 15 LBS of SHITTAKE MUSHROOMS! That's a shiit-load!

shiitake.jpg

People are always like, "Woah! How do you grow shiitakes? Is it hard?" And I'm like "No, it's super easy. Getting set up is some work, but then it is a piece of cake." Here is the basic process for attaining this kind of shiitake wealth yourself:

1 - Get quality bolts, or logs, preferably oak, but lots of hardwoods work fine. Make sure to cut while the tree is still in dormancy, aka no leaves, best in the spring before sap starts running so that the bark does not slip. The fresher the better, although some people swear by letting them sit a few weeks. You want bolts that are 2-3 feet long and about 5-8 inches in diameter, more sapwood to heartwood ratio (branches are best). You want the bark in good condition, not scuffed up, in order to keep moisture in and fungal invaders out.

inociulating.jpg

2 - Get an angle grinder with a high speed drill bit. We ordered that and everything else one could possibly need from these fine people: Field and Forest Products. Definitely worth requesting a magazine from them and drooling over the photos of shroomy nom.

3 - DREAM ABOUT MUSHROOMS LIKE THESE:

shiitake2.jpg

4 - Drill holes every 6 inches on the bolts of wood. Insert spawn of choice (we use sawdust spawn with lots of varieties). cover with food grade wax, we use cheese wax.

5 - Stack the logs in crib stack and leave for 6 months to 1 year, depending on the strain of mushroom. This period of rest is called the spawn run. Warm weather and wide range varieties usually colonize a log in 6-9 months at temps above 55 F. Cold weather strains 9-12 months. So, if you inoculate your logs in Spring of one year, expect to begin harvesting Spring and Summer of the next year. Logs have a lifespan of about 3 years if intensively managed.

6 - DREAM ABOUT MUSHROOMS LIKE THESE:

shiitake3.jpg

5 - Once spawn run is complete, begin managing your stacks on forced-fruiting schedule, which I can post about in future blogs. Most important thing to know is : Move your water to your logs not your logs to your water. Remember me when this advice made all the difference.

Always have some passive cold weather strains to extend your seasons into early spring and late autumn. By mid-summer, you will be up to your ears in shiitakes. This is our biggest basket we own, full to the brim today from just 15 logs:

IMG_7237.JPG

check out these resources by the Cornell University Small Farms Extension Dude-In-Chief, Steve Gabriel. Also very worth checking out his book, Farming the Woods. We went to his mushroom camp several years ago and look where we are now! Rolling Deep in Shiitake! We've got a 120 log operation right now, looking to scale up in the future as we secure the right markets.

Next time I will post some more information about dialing in your laying yard design and how to manage a yard with the most ease, effectiveness, and joy!

Thanks for reading!
Love,
Lily

IMG_7240.JPG

Sort:  

Very amazing photos my friend @ladylunasi

Amazing, may i know which camera you use to take pictures ? @ladylunasi

I use my iphone 5. I would love a better camera, but cannot afford one yet. I hope to invest my Steem wealth in a camera when I have any Steem wealth! I love taking photos and helping give more lasting form to the beauty I see all around me.

oh my god, i am totally jealous!! @ladylunasi

Woah now! 15 lbs of mushrooms is INSANE!!! You've totally inspired me and now I'm going to sign up for that catalog. I have loads of cut hardwood but I'm guessing that won't work since it's a few years old (on the wood pile). Now I just have to figure out where I can get me some logs! Thanks and keep up the great posts! Resteemed!

Yay, that makes me so happy! Your old hardwood won't work because shiitakes are saprophytic, which means they feed on the sugars of decomposing wood, especially in the sugar rich sap wood. After a few years, this sugar rush is over (major downer!) and they will not thrive. On fresh wood you will have a 3 year go of it, though. I recommend looking into local foresters, tree surgeons, or road crews who often have a bunch of branches they don't need. Also look into people logging. Often they just want trunks and leave tops and most land owners do not take advantage of the firewood potential after their woods have been logged. Those tops could supply a mushroom micro enterprise with enough to really get going with mucho mushrooms and mucho gusto!

There are always crews around cutting big limbs off maples that are getting into the power lines. I am going to scope them out and ask pretty please if I can have some logs. If I don't resurface on Steemit for a while can you send out the rescue squad? k thx

BTW I already signed up to receive the catalog!! So pumped for 7-10 business days to come :)

Awesome, tap into those waste streams, woman!

Yum! Good looking shrooms. :)

Thanks, they are super nommy

Congratulations @ladylunasi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool, thank you! Onward Ho!

Right On!, I'm moving to Rual Retreat Virginia soon I want to do indoor mushroom farming.]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56