We've Got Blackberries!

So far this year, we have been competing with bugs, raccoons, and birds for our fruit. Due to this, we are not going to be able to get any strawberries this year. Now, we are on the lookout for when our fruit gets ripe to beat the wildlife to it.

I went outside the other day to look over our plants to see how they were doing and I found that some are getting ready. When I walked by our blackberry plants, I noticed some were starting to change.

IMG_1312.JPG

Then I started digging through the plants and I saw that some that some of the berries were ready to pick. Now, we will have to start watching for more berries to get ripe so that we can beat the wildlife.

IMG_1246.JPG

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Beautiful images!!!

Which device and app/software are you using to take those photos? @knowledge-seeker

I am glad you liked them! We use a Canon SX530 HS camera and just upload the images to steemit.

As a kid we used to love to go pick blackberries. Later we would pour sugar on them and eat em. Great memories!🐓

We really like to put them into pies, if they do not get eaten first. They always taste so good!

I have had success hanging wind chimes around my blackberries and raspberries to keep the birds out of them, I wish it was that easy for beetles.

I agree! We are still trying to find something to take care of the beetles, but we do have some ideas to try.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70