Finalizing my work @ homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Thanks for including me in your group! Monday we close on 13 remote mostly wooded acres in Southeast Missouri. There is currently an off-grid small cabin attached to a shipping container on the property. It already has a small two panel solar system but no water. This will be a weekend place until my husband retires in two years. Then we'll spend longer periods there and are hoping to eventually move there permanently. We have much work to do! This year we are planning to finish the cabin; it needs siding, floor and interior walls need to be finished. Then we plan to insulate and finish the shipping container to add to the living space. We'll need to greatly improve the solar system with more panels and batteries. But our biggest problem is water. We are researching rain catchment systems but our problem is how to avoid freezing pipes in the winter. We would love to have a well dug but financially cannot swing that right now. All feedback welcomed!

IMG_5493.JPG

IMG_5494.JPG

Sort:  

Looks Like Paradise to Me! Everything will Eventually Fall into Place and it will Be Perfect :)I Hope you Take the Time to Document Your Homesteading Adventures as I Have! Followed, Upvoted *

Keep up with the good work! Nothing is better than freedom :)

looks their is a lot that needs to be done , but living in the woods is a dream come true for me, i envy you. all the fresh air the beautiful scenery, the sound of birds and crickets calling ..... aaaaah heavenly

Wonderful post, it was really intriguing! If you’re looking for a new Steemit friend, feel free to follow me and I’ll follow back!

Looks like a great place to retire too. I am sure you will have itblookingnlikevhome in no time. Congrats on your new place! 🐓🐓