Low Sugar Strawberry JamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Strawberry Jam with less sugar

Kate Choice.jpg

With Type II Diabetes on the rise there is a need for food items with less sugar. I do not have diabetes, however my mother does and my sisters do so when I was blessed with several containers of beautiful, ripe strawberries I looked to find a recipe for jelly or jam that I could make for them to enjoy. Mom is allergic to most artificial sweeteners so that was not an option.

I found this recipe in an old magazine I found in the doctors office and copied it down. Unfortunately I did not get all the publishing information because I wasn’t planning to do anything other than make the jam for my family. I believe it was from a Woman's Day magazine sometime in 2015 or 2016.

The jam uses sugar, but quite a bit less than “regular” recipes. Follow along if you want to make a great strawberry jam that has less sugar and no artificial sweeteners.

First gather together your materials and equipment.
gather equipment.jpg

You will need

  • A 6 quart saucepan
  • 6 cups of berries, cored and crushed
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 4 ounce jelly jars
  • lids and rings for the jars
  • one box of Sure Jell pectin

    Sure Jell.jpg

    • waterbath canner with lid
    • canning funnel

    canning funnel.jpg

    • jar lifter
    • de-bubbeling wand
    • magnetic lid lifter
    • ladle
    • spoon for stirring hot jam mixture
    • First, prepare your jars, lids and rings. Sterilize the jars in either the dishwasher or in a pot of boiling water for 10 minutes minimum. Soak the lids in a bowl of boiling water to soften the rubber gasket. You can keep the clean jars warm in the oven, set very low (about 150 to 200 degrees F)

    keep jars warm.jpg

    • Wash and core strawberries. Then cut into smaller chunks. Allow to sit for at least 10 minutes then mash the berries with an old fashioned potato masher. This will release more of the juice and make the berries easier to handle.

    cored and chopped.jpg

    • Combine ¼ cup of the sugar with the package of pectin and mix to be sure it is fully incorporated.
    • Place the berries in your pan and add to it the pectin/sugar mixture. stir well. Add 1 Tbsp butter to reduce foaming if you wish.
    • Bring the fruit mixture to a full rolling boil.
    • Stir in remaining 3 ½ cups sugar and bring to boil again. Continue cooking for 1 minute.
    • Skim foam from berry mixture.
    • Ladle hot berry mixture into hot jars, using canning funnel and taking care to keep the jars clean. Remember to leave at least ¼ inch headspace in each jar.

    head space.jpg

    • Wipe the rims of the jars with a clean paper towel dipped in vinegar. This removes any sugar or other matter from the rim of the jar.
    • Center the lid on the jar and add the ring tightening until resistance is met. Then continue tightening until “finger tip” tight.
    • Using the jar lifter, lower each jar into the canner where you have kept several inches of water simmering. Remember to use your rack in the cnner to protect the jars and keep them off the bottom.

    remember rack.jpg

    • When all jars are in the canner, add boiling water to ensure that the level is at least 2 inches above the top of the jar.
    • Bring water in canner to a rolling boil and cover.
    • Process your jam for 10 minutes. Then turn off heat and allow to rest for 5 minutes.
    • When rest time has ended, using your can lifter remove each jar from the jot water and place on a folded towel to cool for 24 hours. Be sure that the jars are not in a breezy area as the cool air could crack the jars and your hard work would be ruined.

    Use jar lifter.jpg

    • When 12 hours are up check each jar to be sure that it has sealed by removing the ring, and lifting the jar by the lid. If a vacuum has formed you will be able to lift the jar with no problems.
    • Allow your jars to cool another 12 hours. Clean the jars with vinegar to remove any hard water stains. Label and store your jam on your pantry shelf.

    If any of the jars did not seal, place them in the refrigerator to be used first.

    Please note, I am not an expert in food preservation, or pickling, or even homesteading. I am just a woman who loves to put up food to feed my family. These are the steps I followed to make my version of Strawberry Jam.

    If you found something interesting educational or inspirational in this post, stay tuned for more adventures in food and everyday life with:

    Kate, the Busy Boomer




Sort:  

This is great.. I will be trying this in the summer when we have a plentiful crop of the red berries!

@nzfxtrader, so glad you like it. My family really loves the jams and jellies I make with these wonderful fruits.

fantastic presentation thanks for sharing I'll have to jot this down and try it next year as my Aunt is a diabetic and like jam's and jelly's but sadly not many to find in the stores :( thanks for sharing

@freakygeak thanks for your kind words. I'm hoping that my family likes it. I tried it after finishing this post. To me it has a bit more strawberry flavor which is good in my opinion. Hope your aunt likes it as well.

it sure would be a mystery if one only tasted the sweetness and not the fruit I find a good number of raspberry jams like that all sugar and no fruit and yet you see the berries but not the sugar it's strange :P

@freakygeak, it constantly amazes me how many foods we get from the grocery look pretty but have no taste, or very little taste. Grape jelly is one of the worst in my opinion. Pretty purple, but no flavor. rather disappointing.

I love grapes but anything made from them no thanks :( I find something gets destroyed along the way and maybe it's the flavour or texture :) just because it looks nice and smells nice don't mean it's edible so I guess we agree :D

I love the idea of low sugar (real sugar) compared to "no sugar" recipes using artificial sweeteners. This one looks yummy!

@daddykirbs This is the one we discussed last Saturday. Hope you like it.

Wow Kate, great post and it is doing wonderfully!
A couple of years ago I started making a pectin free jam, which naturally takes less sugar, but I was going to experiment with using even less sugar this year and see if I can make it work. I am thinking 1/2 cup sugar to each 1 cup prepared fruit, maybe even less if possible.

@raincountry, Heidi, I've been thinking of creating my own pectin. Would love a more "natural" source than the little boxes from the grocery. Right now my apple peels and cores go to make vinegar so I have just thought about it. Thanks for the upvote and the comment.

Great step-by-step tutorial!! Nothing like homemade strawberry jam! I always think it's too sweet, so thanks for making a lower sugar version!

@jaymorebeet Thanks for your kind words. I hate how very sweet most jellies and jams are so I was thrilled to find this recipe. My sisters and Mom will love it I'm sure. Hope you have good luck with it as well.

Great post, I love strawberries :D

Thanks for the good wishes @artwithflo. Maybe one day you will be able to make some of this for yourself and your family.

YUM! I've gotta make some with my strawberries next season!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95