Hand Made Greeting Cards Part 2 Mandala

in #homesteading7 years ago

Mandella.jpg

An artistic craze which is sweeping the US is adult coloring books. There are so many out there that you can find one for just about any subject.

I loved to “color” when I was a kid. I loved to try and make the pictures I colored look life-like, and even tried my amateurish hand at shadowing and perspective. I must admit I still love to color, and these books are wonderful creative outlets.

Mandella 02.jpg

I have several books with pictures called Mandala in them. The back of one of these books explains Mandala this way

“An ancient form of meditative art, mandalas are known for their restorative power as well as their ability to provide tranquility and a sense of self”

I have spent many hours coloring the intricate images, and have enjoyed the peace they bring. My problem has become, not how to color the pictures, but what to do with them when I'm finished.

Mandella 3.jpg

I have discovered that Mandala make beautiful greeting cards, and provide me with another creative outlet. Once the image is complete, it can be cut to the size of a card top, and glued to a blank. The images can then be decorated with glitter, or ribbons, or any number of things. You have then produced a personal piece of art that you can give to someone for their enjoyment as well.

Mandella 4.jpg

The photos in this post are of my own personal work. I enjoyed coloring the images and creating the greeting cards. So far, everyone who has received on of these cards has asked where I got them as the recipient wanted to purchase some to send to friends.

Mandella 6.jpg

If you are artistic, but don't have confidence in your own “free hand” efforts, try using the coloring books and making your art there.

If you found something interesting, educational or inspirational in this post, stay tuned for more adventures in food and everyday life with:

Kate, the Busy Boomer




Sort:  

So beautiful cards. Good post.

Thanks for your kind words. I love to make cards. Hope you found something inspirational.

Very pretty!! I wish I had the patience to color. Coloring agitates me for some reason. Like how you turn them into cards! Never considered doing that. Thanks for sharing!

@phedizzle, thanks for your lovely words. Coloring has always been a kind of therapy for me, and I wanted a way to share the joy.

Such a wonderful way to preserve your work and share it with others! Thank you for sharing!

@hutch-happenings, I do enjoy sharing it, just wish I could encourage more folks to do the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46