You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mr. Permaculture on Adventure #4 - Peeing and Making Biochar

in #homesteading7 years ago

Fascinating! I'd never heard of biochar before.

"can increase soil fertility of acidic soils", does that mean it has a low pH itself or is this a reference to a more complex interaction?

Sort:  

Thank you! I only learned about it last year. But I am very excited that we can even make it ourselves and for its long-lasting benefits.

Many biochars have a neutral to alkaline pH value and can provide some benefit in neutralizing acidic soils. (search for 'acidic soils' in this reference)

Sorry of course, I should have said high pH of course for basic!

Cool, that is what I understood!

Oh ... no problem at all. We are all here to learn together. :)

By the way, I love your profile picture. <3 Are they dandelion leaves in your mouth?

No, it'#s not dandelion, it is capiçoba (Erechtites valerianifolius) and pincel-de-estudante (Emilia sonchifolia)... very tasty! I'm doing a PhD about wild foods in Brazil.

Thanks for the correction. Nice of meeting you on the platform, Kate, the Ethnobotanist! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53