It's propagation time!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

image Not much going on this photo that you can see. The devil is in the details. In the trays is cuttings that I soaked in rooting compound. The media is sphagnum peat moss. Peat moss seams to keep just the right level of moisture. Peat moss also has anti fungel properties. The dome lids is to hold in humidity. New step this year is heated germination mat under the vinyl on the bench. I have had decent results in the past with the first three steps, and hope adding the last will up my propagation game.
Warning to always research what you are propagating. You could get in hot water propagating anything that is a patented or copyrighted variety/ name. I am personally conflicted by this because; I believe the people that spend tons of time breeding plants should be compensated, and the same time I don't believe a person should be own a lifeform. I believe all life is put in earth for humans to take husbandry over, not total control of. Many varieties are produced by tax payer founded Universities. If I fund the research I should at least get to clone the plants without getting sued?
What do you think?
image My awesome 4 year old helping fill some flats.
Happy homesteading!

Sort:  

I don't ask the slave masters anything before doing something. I never ask myself "is it legal" I ask myself "is it moral" and that's how I live. I wish others would follow suit. I believe you're safe here on steemit and/or DTube but as for facebook and YouTube someone will try to get you violently kidnapped and locked in a cage for you doing what is right and using God's creation for good.

Good way to look at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77