Bill hook, brush axe, pole bill, and sickles.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

This post about a tool with many names, was brought about by a video by my old friend, and fellow kentuckian posted laying waste to some overgrown vegetation with a curved sickle.
Whilst the hand sickle he used is extremely effective, it made my back hurt just watching it. Hand sickles, and the scythe have been around for a long time, and really can get some chopping done!
I started using a tool more common to the bushcraft crowd than homesteaders. What I call a brush axe (essentially a bill hook on a axe handle) for weed clearing a few years ago. It comes by many names, and many similar designs. I get poison ivy every time I look at a weed eater, so I would rather take my time, and cut weeds the old fashioned way. Using the thumbs up grip method, and light weight allows for great ergonomics. Similar to using a scythe, but allows more hacking should you encounter a small 15 foot tree you decide needs to meet it's maker. Unlike a scythe where the angle, and design makes it hard to cut yourself with. You could easily injury your feet with a brush axe. More so if someone walked up behind you while you where swinging what is could be compared to a machete on a stick. I really do love mine. It has a slim hafting design that keeps it from getting hung up on stuff. 20170810_091358.jpg
Happy homesteading!

Sort:  

With all the rain we are getting here in KY you will be using the rice knife a whole lot more! Good to see a fellow Kentucky homesteader on here! Nice post keep up the good work!

Yup, I have to do along my driveway this week. It is getting out of control.

These are wonderful! My son is making me a scythe...cant wait to use it to cut fodder for the livestock and clear out those dern dog fennels!

Thank you. I greatly appreciate the feedback.

Great video. Looks great. I prefer the Japanese sickle for jobs like that and downing Citronella and Lemon Grasses. I hate my weed eater.

Heck yeah. I have tore both of my rotator cuffs. I have a hatred for anything with a pull string.

It's all about having the right tool for the job. I once mowed over poison ivy. I will never make that mistake again. Resteeming this tip for our followers.


Fellow Steemians, please support @josephinky with your REAL comments and an upvote. I will randomly select one of your comments for a 100% Upvote

supportauthor.gif

Omg! But hey, I have neighbors that invited 30 people over for a bonfire and BURNED poison ivy! They all had to go to the ER with respiratory and skin problems, so in the grand scheme of things, mowing wasnt soooo bad. (Its bad tho Lol)

I'm glad that wasn't my first choice of method to get rid of it. Wow.

Thats rough. I have found that hair sheep will eat ivy off the tree, and to the ground.

Congratulations @josephinky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @josephinky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97