Better to be lucky than good!

in #homesteading6 years ago

The best laid plans often go astray. But, sometimes things work out. Last year I had a brown ram lamb that I failed to castrate. I normally band at three days. This ram lamb had really small testicles and I did not think the band would stay on. Thus I planned to do it a week later. Spring activities and work got the best of me and I simply forgot. Breeding season came and the young ram showing attention, but my adult ram wearing a breeding apron seemed to do a fair job of keeping him chased away. I thought nothing of it. When I observed two lambs in the pasture my first thoughts were that I had breeding apron failure. Then the color of both lambs being soild black from two separate ewes one black, one white, from a white ram really don't add up. Possible, but unlikely. Then I recalled the brown ram.
It worked out, none of these lambs are inbreed, and we a remarkable stretch of fair weather for February. This is my 4 year old helping me band the three day old ram lamb. Hopefully this whole thing will not repeat all over again.
Happy homesteading! image

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Nice I’m studying about this so I will be ready when the time comes for us to get ours.

Great post. Love to see the little guy helping out.

He has been more than patient. I will not let him handle them for at least three days old. Till I can be sure they are fully bonded.

You got a 6.45% upvote from @getboost courtesy of @josephinky!

You got a 0.98% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @josephinky!

This post has received a 2.62% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

This post has received a 15.97 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @josephinky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98