You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading - Best Hogs on the Homestead?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

We have not started to raise hogs yet but we want to. My husband is hesitant to start because he says Ill fall in love with them and they will never become food. Looking at your pictures and looking into those eyes I don't know if I could kill them. I think I may have to toughen up a bit more and start with turkeys. If I can eat them then Ill try hogs. What is your expeirence with first starting. Someone told me to never name the animals I tend to eat. Any advice would be helpful as I truly dream of one day being totally self sufficient and raise all my food. Thanks for sharing looking forward to hearing back from you

Sort:  

I also upvoted you so others can read about raising hogs.

We name ours and it is never a fun day when you are butchering but we look at it as the hogs have a nice clean life and are treated very well. We give them a good life with lots of love instead of that commercial feed lot crap way of living. You can get attached to your breeders since they will be around for awhile but even then years later it is a waste to just let an animal die and in no way show the animal respect by wasting it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64