Help Me Save Good Useful Lumber From Being Tossed in the DumpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

Every year in my local area hundreds if not thousands of trees get tossed in the shredder and hauled to the dump or get needlessly hacked into firewood when they could have been turned into useful lumber that could have be made into furniture, tools, toys, or buildings and structures that would have given decades of use and enjoyment. I scan the pages of Craigslist and see people who need trees hauled off or drive by a construction site being cleared and I think if only I had a bandsaw mill I could turn those trees into something useful. It is such a waste to throw away those trees with perfectly good wood that took multiple decades to grow.

Help me leverage the Steemit platform to raise the funds I need to purchase a bandsaw mill and we can keep those trees out of the dump. Please up vote and resteem this post and we can help make the world a little bit better place where trees get used to their full potential and not wasted tossed in a dump.

I have been milling tiny pieces of lumber with my table top bandsaw but it is severely limited in what it can do with its tiny electric motor and 3&1/2 inch cutting capacity.

image.jpeg

Help me put an end to needless waste and let's make this one of those stories where Steemit was used to make the world a better place!

Please up vote and resteem! Thank you!

Sort:  

I mostly use an electric furnace, but I still have a wood burning furnace that I use every once in a while.

I burn up my scrap wood in a brick rocket stove I built. I put a lodge cast iron griddle on top and have been using it to cook on since early spring. It takes a little bit to get the initial fire going but once the rocket is doing its thing it cooks like a champ. I finally got wise and started using a hand held self igniting propane torch rather than fiddling around with cigarette lighter. Saves me from buying tanks of propane and you can cook a whole meal with about half a five gallon bucket worth of sticks and scrap wood.

Hi there, why don't you start with a chainsaw mill? Doesn't cost a fortune and if you are into metal work, you can weld your own together.
For the next step I'd actually recommend a swing blade model, like Lucas Mill etc., the handling is way easier.

That could certainly be an option but looking at the differences on YouTube the bandsaw mills seem to be far superior and less wasteful plus the maintenance on the chainsaw is more intensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81