You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 12 Ideas On How I Will Make An Income From Homesteading

All great ideas. Pigs are a lot of work, I worked on a heratige pig farm for a month and ... well, I'd never get pigs. Goats and goat milk sound better to me (;

Sort:  

That's interesting, I wouldn't mind hearing more about those experiences. Maybe a good blog post - hint, hint - :) I really should pay more attention to people who didn't like raising pigs in addition to those who love them to get a better balance of opinions and experiences. THat would probably be helpful.

Way back when I was 20-23 and finishing college I had some experience with pigs and goats, and I found the pigs much easier. Mainly because I didn't have to milk them. Just give them food and water and make sure they don't get out and they are good to go. The goats were constant escape artists, which was more our fault than theirs, but still... My biggest hang-up about goats is that I just don't see how to make them profitable for me. Lots of products can be made from goat milk, but I don't think I can make that every day commitment to milking. I love goat milk based cheese, just if someone else does the work. :)

Thanks for sharing that, I really appreciate other perspectives.

And there you go, I've never raised sheep (or worked on a farm with them) so I hadn't even thought of those points! I guess there are pros and cons to everything and it's nice to be able to share perspectives freely to help each other out. Steemit rocks ( :
Can't wait to hear more about your adventures!

Yes, SHEEP! Katahdin or Dorper hair sheep that don't need sheering, specifically. They would be my first choice for livestock if I had pasture and grass instead of forest and trees. Maybe if I can convince one of my neighbors with pastures to rent me some land in the future? :)

Steemit does rock. I've discovered @papa-pepper is only a couple hours away and he breeds pigs, and you never know, I might be able get started with some feeder pigs from him. Just all around coolness. Thanks.

Wow that's pretty damn cool about having @papa-pepper so close. You can be homesteading allies!
Sheep! Of course sheep would be a good choice. I'll have to research that more. It might be perfect in the rocky mountains too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33