CHRISTMAS HARVEST #BRUSSELSPROUTS

in #homesteading7 years ago

I sowed them back in May and this morning I harvested them to have on Christmas Day. Brussels Sprouts have a reputation for smelling bad and making you fart. Usually when most people find them on their plate, they take their time to eat them - it's not like there aren't tastier things to eat first but I can’t get enough of the little green gems. Hope you all have a great Christmas and don’t forget the Brussel Sprouts!!

Here are a few facts about them -

  1. They’re named after the Belgian capital (who knew)

  2. They topped a poll both in the UK and USA for being the most hated vegetable.

  3. The earliest recorded reference to them in England dates back only to 1796.

  4. It’s the gene TAS2R38 which makes them taste bitter to some people.

  5. Stuart Kettel pushed a Brussels Sprout up Mount Snowdon with his nose to raise money for Macmillan cancer.

Merry Christmas.

FB_IMG_1514115396901.jpg

FB_IMG_1514115394503.jpg

FB_IMG_1514115399544.jpg

Sort:  

Love brussel sprouts :) nice harvest. Thanks for sharing

Helping to Welcome In 2018- Here's Your CLUCKY New Year Surprise. Please check your wallet for a LITTLE Holiday Cock-A-Doodle-Doo!

2018.jpg

Image Source

From @goldendawne, The Stewards Of Gondor & @fulltimegeek

Wow those look amazing. I've tried and failed 3 times to grow brussel sprouts. This is the year though! You did a wonderful job! Thank you for sharing.
Following!

Well done! Those look beautiful. I had to chuckle that it is the most hated vegetable! My mom fed them my sister and me and called them Dinosaur Food. I think that helped us like them! Love them to this day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61