Canning for less bacteria

in #homesteading7 years ago

I just started canning by myself. Here is what makes me feel better. Work clean, the less bacteria you start with the less you have to grow. I wipe everything down before I start and make sure my utensils and pots are clean. I know that sounds basic but it really helps.

Know your elevation. That is the only thing that will change your weight.

Never store your jars with the rings on. If something is growing in there the lid will pop off and you can see the growth. Keeping the ring on can give you a false seal.

If you are worried boil your canned goods for ten min. Start counting once your food comes to a boil. It kills bacteria.

Also take heart the things you can will be way cleaner then anything you can buy canned. As one canner friend says. She never had a recall in 50 years.

FB_IMG_1516112933715.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74