Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 138 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 138 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-six days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about not getting anything done that day on the shed project because I had to go off-site and do some shopping and when I got back I spent four hours doing some weed-eating work for a neighbor so that I could make a little money.

I talk about how the weed-eating job was all on a hill with a very steep slope to it and how it really wiped me out for the day.

I talk about how once I finish the shed project that I really want to focus on developing the new homestead area and start getting stuff moved from the shack area to the new area.

I talk about getting fed up with being in the shack (and the shack area) and how all the discomforts of them both are really just a pain in the butt as far as a 'living situation' goes.

I talk about how the property owner wants to move out to the property and how I really do not want to be living that close to anyone else so I really need to get setup in the new area before he does that.

I talk about how I have learned over the years not to live too close to the land owner(s) of a property I am caretaking and explain some of my reasons for having that sentiment.

I talk about how I have been 'slacking' on getting more black locust trees planted and explain the reasons why I have not been able to work on that project.

I talk about some of the things that are frustrating me and although I have a lot of time I do not have a lot of resources or machinery to make the tasks that I need to do be done efficiently.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can always right-click the video and click 'Save Video As...' and download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

You can listen to this video as a podcast here: http://listenlater.io/podcast/5bcb6843b052a/

Listenlater.io is a new service where you can turn an online video into a podcast and listen to it later.

You can make your own podcast here: http://listenlater.io

@jacobpeacock, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81