You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the difficulties of fencing goats, and other things

in #homesteading6 years ago

Ha! I love the March muscles! Ugh I know the feeling there. I did some brush clearing on a slope yesterday for a few hours and it felt like I had worked on it for twelve hours straight! I think that next winter I might have to do some exercising or just lots of hiking so I am not quite so 'out of shape' when the Spring arrives. :) Cheers and have a great day.

Sort:  

I always intend to, but the lure of hibernation is too strong! It's definitely time to get outside and work, though. I hope you're not too achy today. Glad to hear you're feeling better. Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! I 'intend to' as well and never really do. I love the hibernation too much (or just enough) as well. I do try to do at least one project every winter though and this winter it was working on developing a spring area (that gets a lot of surface water) for irrigation use. After a week or so of working in the cold water shuffling around stones and digging I called it 'good enough' and decided to work on it more later in the year when it is warmer.

I have the same problem. I have all kinds of time on my hands but outside is too miserable. I think hibernation is biologically necessary. Or maybe just psychologically.

Posted using Partiko Android

I find it vital as well. I call it my 'downtime' and tend to make up for it the rest of the year by overworking and doing everything I can possibly do in a day. It is a key to maintaining a balance for myself that I have done for quite a number of years now with zero regrets. :)

I always tell myself that winter is the perfect time for indoor projects but I don't do those either! Downtime is more important sometimes. As a culture I'm sure we don't rest enough and living the life I do requires it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35