Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 126 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 126 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-one days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about not sleeping very well the night before and being up late. I talk about doing a little brush clearing with the swing-blade that morning along with some other more domestic things that I had not been doing because I had been working on too much other stuff.

I talk about finally ordering a solar charge controller for my solar power system. I don't say the type in the video but I ordered an inexpensive BSV20A 12V/24V Auto charge controller that I still use to this day.

I talk about also ordering two twelve volt ten watt micro hydro turbine generators. I do not mention the type but they are F50-12V micro hydro turbine generators and they were also rather inexpensive.

I talk about how much the vegetation has grown in on one of the trails that lead up to the spring (seep) area and how I have to be careful of snakes when walking it. I talk about how there is also a lot of poison ivy on the trail.

I talk about how much the vegetation has grown in at the spring (seep) area since the winter ended.

I show where the rock channel (that I previously made that funnels water under the large boulder) is working well to keep the water flowing under the boulder and keeping the leaves out.

I show the various pools that I dug beneath the spring heads in the seep area and and talk about how they are doing.

I show the spring that I previously built a dam/berm below it's natural cistern and talk about how well it is doing at holding the water in and how well the spring is producing water.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

Media could not be loaded yet upvoting on Proof of Faith. 😎

Thanks. Yeah DTube is not always all that reliable but you can always right click the video on it and select 'Save Video As..' I think that it is a really cool feature that a lot of people do not know about.

Nice to know! Thanks for the tip! 🖒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82