Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 218 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is a video from Day 218 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and ninety days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods.

'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

Jacob Goes Off Grid 218 Part 1-GD.png

In this video I talk about how it has been a rather busy few days. I talk about how the property owner showed up the morning before and offered to help me get all my stuff out of storage and I mention that we got it all out of storage and I got it unloaded in the middle of the night.

I show the building that got delivered and it's placement at the homestead area. I talk about how the first thing I did in the building was accidentally knock over the five gallon bucket of dog water. I find this humorous because the very first night I was at the property I knocked over a dog water bucket in the tent I was staying in.

I talk about staying up late unloading all my stuff. I talk about how getting everything out of storage was a bit of an ordeal but how I am glad that (after nearly four years) I finally have all my gear in one place where I can actually use it.

I talk about getting the Ridgeback dog back to take care of and talk about how she could not stay in the place she was because she attacked another dog. I talk about not letting her around my dogs and putting my dogs up while she is out. I talk about keeping her either in the kennel or on a leash.

I talk about needing to really get focused on moving out of the shack area and into the homestead area. I show where the property owner parked a trailer beside the canopy tent so that I can load everything I have stored under it onto the trailer.

I talk a little about the condition of the 'new' building and how it is going to need some 'help' to get it into better shape because it is a used building and one built by someone that did not really know how to build a building.

I talk about already packing a bunch of stuff into the new building and how I do not want to move too much stuff from the shack and into the building before I organize it somewhat.

I talk about how hopefully everything will 'turn around' and how excited I am that I can create a homestead in an are that will be 'my area'.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can download it directly by using the down arrow button in the top right corner.

You can listen to a podcast version of this video by clicking the speaker icon.

50-50-speaker-icon.png

Donate via Bitcoin here: 35qH7GLD6wRn1GXA9uMi3viqZGbjHg5uSm

Sort:  

Great video, makes my heart all warm and fuzzy for you. :) Sorry I found out my vote is worth nothing even at 100% but I will still upvote your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72