Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 131 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 131 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-three days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video it is raining and I talk about how it has rained all day so I stayed inside and did not get much done.

I talk some about testing out a few Apps that I could potentially earn money with. One was an App called Foap and another was an App called Slidejoy. I do not say it in the video but ultimately they were both just a drain on my battery and not really worth the effort as far as making revenue goes.

I talk about drawing up some different designs for dream catchers and how the next ones that I made would be different than the ones I originally made.

I talk about a big tree falling somewhere nearby and how I am walking around looking to see if I can find it. I talk about how with all the rain that the ground gets very soft and trees growing on slopes can easily uproot and fall over.

I talk about doing some weed-eating the previous day after I had made that day's video and show where I did it.

I talk about feeling like I am living in a box (because I was) and how it was cramped and hard to be creative.

I talk about feeling a bit overwhelmed by the prospect of moving everything (including my living situation) over to the new homestead area. I talk about not letting it all overwhelm me and just looking at the little steps that I could do each day.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can always right-click the video and click 'Save Video As...' and download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Sort:  

Congratz for going off grid! I am working on my wildcrafting skills and recently am starting to steem about it. I've been thinking about making some sort of guild or tag for preppers off griders survivalists here on steem but not sure how I would pull that off just yet. Keep up the good work. Liked and followed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thanks @queenmountain! It has been quite the journey but well worth it as far as being off grid goes. As for inventing tags I dunno because I think at this point using the tags already in use will help bolster the community that is already here but hey go for it if you think it is worthwhile! I like the homesteading and off-grid tags because they are a good catchall for many topics. Looking forward to seeing your posts. Be well and Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77