Day 772 (Daily Post)

in #homesteading5 years ago

Day 772. Although I enjoy my infrequent visits to the 'outside world' I often marvel at just how sad that said world appears to be. Standing in the cold rain today I looked around a litter strewn parking lot and could not help but notice the oily dirty water flowing across it and swirling into a large metal grated drain nearby. I thought about just how many gallons a day that single drain collects (when it rains) and where might that water eventually wind up at. At first I considered that it maybe went somewhere that it was filtered of toxins and cleaned before winding up in some waterway or watershed but then my rationale kicked in and I thought 'Maybe that would happen in a better, more conscious and considerate world but not in this one because this one has gotten so accustomed to this sort of negligence that it does not even notice it happening'. I think that there is some truth in that thought and if we could ever break through the blase attitude/menatilty that we have adopted perhaps we would notice not just our environmental impact but also all the little (and big things).that contribute to it. Some might consider such notions as foolish but what I consider foolish is the notion that our reckless and destructive behaviors can go on ad infinitum without any serious repercussions. All that stuff aside it was nice to go out to the stores today, spend some time with a friend and also get some much needed supplies and then immediately retreat back to my little bubble of reality where (other than the occasional smell of a paper mill from an adjacent town) I do not have to bear witness to the 'bad behavior' of other humans mucking up the planet. Have a nice day/evening and be well.

Note: As some of you know I have been making these 'Daily Post' on another platform ever since I began my stay at this old farm seven hundred and seventy-two days ago. Ever since I began using Steemit I have considered posting them here as well but have been hesitant to do so because the content of them varies and thus it is difficult to tag as 'one thing or another' and they do not always directly relate to homesteading, off grid living or whatever. I also type them out in a notepad App on an Android phone and post them as a 'wall of text' instead of breaking them into paragraphs because the platform that I copy and paste them to formats them into a 'wall of text' even if I break them into paragraphs. I am not going to correctly format them and have grown to enjoy their rambling nature. So this is sort of a test and I appreciate any feedback that folks may have.

Sort:  

I do not have to bear witness to the 'bad behavior' of other humans mucking up the planet. Have a nice day/evening and be well.

Hello @jacobpeacock, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75