Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 118 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 118 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and thirty-eight days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

Note: I was having problems uploading the original video file which was 208 megabytes. It may not seem like a very big file size but for my limited data plan and intermittent cellphone connection it is pretty big...especially after trying to upload it a dozen times and repeatedly getting an error after it finishes which basically wasted 2496 megabytes of my data plus way too much of my limited electricity. So I compressed the video down to 240p. My apologies on the low quality.

In this video I am up at the spring on the hill that I had recently been working on. I explain how I dug the pool out deeper and used the clay from it to re-enforce and help seal the dam at the base of the pool.

I talk about how one of the heads of the spring had quit flowing so I gently dug out around it and found a large rock that the water was flowing around.

I talk about how there seems to be a lot more salamanders (or newts) since I created the pools to hold water.

I talk about all the poison ivy growing on the path to the spring (seep) area and how as I am walking along I have been cutting it off at the base with a shovel. I talk about needing to swing blade the path to the spring (seep) area.

I talk about cutting back a bunch of the honey suckle along the driveway with the swing blade and how difficult it was to cut back. I talk about how there was a bunch of multi-flora, briers and poison ivy mixed in with the honey suckle and how I kept the poison ivy separate so that it did not wind up in the fire when I burned the other brush.

I talk about going to the store and spending the last of my money on dog food and a few groceries for myself. I talk about shopping at a discount store and how cheap some large containers of cranberry sauce was. I show some sun tea that I made in one of the empty empty cranberry sauce containers.

I show a copiced black walnut tree near the creek and show where I cut all the vegetation back from around it because the dogs kept alerting to something near it.

I show a small black locust grove and talk about clearing out more of the brush from it.

I show the areas along the driveway that I cut the brush back from and talk about how one side of the road was covered in poison ivy and the dogs kept running through it.

I show a second black locust in the 'green house' that started growing from one of the root cuttings that I had previously planted. I show how tall my garlic plants had grown. I also show the potato plants that are growing and explain how I want to keep adding soil over them as they grow so that they grow in the box instead of in the ground below the box.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42