Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 129 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 129 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty-three days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about how it rained all day and I stayed inside out of the weather recovering from my recent exertions. I talk about spending much of the day thinking about moving everything to the new homestead site and what order to do it in.

I talk about how at the new homestead site it is going to take a lot of brush clearing before I start really moving into the area and how I will have to 'stay put' in the shack for the time being.

I show my garlic plants in the 'green house' and talk about how well they are doing. I also show the potatoes and talk about how they are also growing rather well. I show the nine small black locust trees and talk about how well they are doing after moving them out of the 'green house'.

I talk about how a rabbit got inside the camper shell and how one of the dogs noticed it in there and started alerting to it but the rabbit ran past the dog without the dog seeing it and how the dog crawled inside the camper shell to look for it. I found the entire affair rather humorous.

I talk about moving the flower pots filled with soil (for planting black locust in) with a wheel barrow (I meant the wagon) six at a time to the new homestead area and how moving three hundred of them that way would be quite the process.

I talk about still needing to maintain the area around the shack and also be able to make progress at the new homestead area and how it is basically going to double my workload.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble viewing the video you can always right-click the video and click 'Save Video As...' and download it directly.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74