Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 123 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago


This is a video from Day 123 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and forty days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about clearing out some more of the unwanted vegetation in the large black locust grove.

I talk about getting some more help that day from the folks with the tractor but how they had to leave early because their tractor started leaking hydraulic fluid.

I talk about how while the folks were there with the tractor they pushed the large piles of multi-flora and briers that I had created onto the berm. I talk about how they also used the bucket on the tractor to compress down the berm some. I show the berm and mention how good it came out.

I show the black locust grove and talk about how well it is looking now that most of the vines and vegetation is gone.

I show a stand of cherry trees and talk about how they are covered with small green berries but how I will need to do some research to see if they are edible.

I show where the tractor was used to clear out more of the briers in the field and how we started a second berm. I explain offsetting the berms from each other so that when the water is diverted from one it will flow onto the other one across the 'driveway' from the uphill berm.

I talk about getting burned out on doing landscaping and how I would rather be building a better place to live in.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73