Barter System: Scored Two Large Jars of Ontario Honey and a Plate Full of Beeswax

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

My wife was feeling crafty and had a request for two wreaths. I was happy to find out that the family we were trading with keeps bees.

honeylabel.jpg

Two large jars of Pure Ontario Honey No.1 White and a Large Plate of Beeswax (463 grams) were traded for the two wreaths.

wreaths.jpg

These jars of honey will last us a long time, we will mostly use it as a sugar substitute in recipes.

ontariohoneywax.jpg

Beeswax makes great candles, they burn clean with no smoke. Rub some on paper and you'll have the original wax paper to wrap up and help preserve food. I'll be blending some of the beeswax with coconut oil (80/20) to make some lip balm. Most of it I will be using for waterproofing canvas.

waxclose.jpg

This plate of Beeswax smells so nice - like honey :)

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Awesome! Looks like some delicious and useful honey!

Sometime this spring/summer (I'm hoping) I plan on embarking on my own urban beekeeping adventure...

I'd like to keep bees too, eventually. Urban area, going to give the neighbors a heads or just go for it? :D It would be nice to be stackin some honey ;)

I've already got 2 other neighbors within 100-200 meters that have a few hives of their own so I'll just be adding to the mayhem ;)

Surprisingly, to have a few chickens just to have some eggs for personal consumption would require public hearings to ensure the neighbors were aware, but I'm not aware of any regulations regarding honey bees in my area!

followed

fantastic!! bartering is the stuff of the past ---> into the future! blessings! nothing beats bee products <3

It's always nice to cut out the third party when doing deals :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jackdub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Very nice, @jackdub. I never realized canvas was waxed with bees wax, bit it makes sense now.

About to make some candles with it this weekend :)

Should we expect post of the candle making?

This weekend - my wife's taking the lead on this project and she said friday or saturday so i'll have my camera ready :) Mixing in some citronella oil that she traded for, that's supposed to help keep bugs away - I will be putting screens on the patio still, i walked through a little swarm of black flies on the way to the bus the other day.

The bugs are starting to come out! Nice thing adding a little citronella, it should work to a certain degree. One day I'd like to make my own soap with lye also made by hand.

Hand made soaps seem to sell well. At the market, out of your home, online, lots of possibilities.

Good to know! I'm starting to think about bee keeping... probably for next year though. We have a lot on our plate already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36