You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Care of HOMESTEAD ANIMALS - Hoof Care for SHEEP

in #homesteading7 years ago

Great photos.

Many farmers are using copper sulfate (blue crystals) to fight foot infections. It works, but when they dispose of the bath water down the drain or in their fields or ponds it causes some major problems because of it's toxicity.

We've been looking into a probiotic/water foot bath for domestic animals to help fight infection. No poisons or heavy metals, just beneficial bacteria and water. @ironshield

Sort:  

I use a black walnut anti-fungal salve that I make and it works wonders. Non-toxic and easy to apply. :)

@themyrrhmaid, is there any way we can get your recipe? Thank you.

Kenny

@pfeilerfam5 I don't share the recipe, unfortunately, as that is how I make a living. You're welcome to purchase some from my etsy store (www.themyrrhmaid.com). If you're familiar with salve-making you can use the ingredient list to try to recreate it though.

Oh, well that is different. So yeah I can understand why you would not give out the recipe. I have never made salves before. I make my own beard balm, that is about it.
I will check your etsy site out. Thank you.

Interesting. Black walnut salve. A natural anti-fungal salve. @ironshield

@ironshield I sell it in my Etsy store if you're interested (www.themyrrhmaid.com). However, you're welcome to try to make something similar yourself if you're familiar with salve making. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69