You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Seed Starts One Week Later And A Question For The Community

in #homesteading7 years ago

Leggy plants! I have the same problem, but my do not die...I haven't quite figured it out yet. But in your case. AS soon as germination is seen take them to a cooler temperature control area and they should be getting 10+ hours of light, use supplemental lighting if you can.

I germinate in a toasty room, then move them to my cooler basemnet and put under a grow light as soon as germination. The grow light in on a timer for 14hours. I am still trying to figure out the legginess as I still get it...it might be the distant i have the grow...i have been experimenting but haven't figured it out especially on my broccoli starts!

Sort:  

I have heard of some brushing the plants slightly everyday to strengthen them up. I am trying a fan and putting it on a low setting to blow on them for a few minutes every couple of days, so I am waiting to see if that will help. I am going to try to get a small portable green house set up, so I can make sure they are getting plenty of light. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66