THE FOOD FOREST IS STARTING TO HAVE SOME ACTION

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
The Food Forest starting to wake up. There were a whole lot of ladybugs on the Autumn Olive trees.

Ladybugs are beneficial insect for gardens and Forest Gardens. The majority of their diet is made up of aphids. So I love seeing these little guys crawling around my plants!

image
Young apple tree starting to Bud. I'm not expecting to get any good fruit off of this tree for the next couple years.

image
I've got quite a few blueberry bushes spotted around. They're starting to get their flowers and leaves also!

image
image
Got some asparagus Spears popping out of the top of the Hugelkultur Mounds in the Food Forest. These asparagus roots are going on their third year. Asparagus takes a while before you can Harvest from it. Hopefully next year will be the year.

In the background you can tell that the comfrey is doing very well. Some of the comfrey plants already have flowers on them.

image
The strawberry plants that are planted throughout the sides of the Hugelkultur Mounds are beginning to flower! Homegrown strawberries are one of my favorite things to eat straight off the plant!!

image
Was able to get some of my herbs planted today in the garden beds behind the Food Forest. So far there is cilantro, parsley, sweet basil, dill, thyme and Spanish bush basil seeds in the ground.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

so happy to see what's going on at your place!! ahh the beautiful sights of spring!! 100%!!

Thank you! Time to get busy. 😀

It is for me here in North Carolina, USA.

We had both wild and planted strawberries last year and with 4 kids, I don't think a single one ended up inthe house! But at least they're very good about sharing equally. :-) That is very interesting about the asaparagus! I didn't realize it was such a commitment before you could start harvesting!

That's funny I don't think any of our strawberries made it inside either. We just go out there and eat them. Yes asparagus is a commitment but it'll last you for 25 years.

Spring's a poppin' in your area, for sure! I wonder if you see many native ladybugs. Those look like the Harlequin lady beetles (Harmonia axyridis), with all those spots and the black and white 'M' on the part between their head and main body. They can be rough on the native species. But at least they do serve the same function with aphids! Enjoy your spring and that nice-looking asparagus! You are in for some good eating in future springs! :D

Thank you! Not sure if that's a native ladybug or not.

Not all Harlequins have that M or W on their thorax. But if a ladybug does have it, then it's a Harlequin. I'll be checking out Steemit ladybug photos this spring and summer. Maybe I ought to keep score of what I see, lol.

I have some of mine going but there is always more to do. LOL. I have got grapes in this year along with blueberry, raspberry and soon a blackberry bush. Should have some turmeric I ordered in the mail today.

Nice! I've never grown turmeric before.

UGGGGG! We just got a hard frost last night... Did some covering, but... I guess we will see... we are at about the same latitude looks like your garden is about at the same point as ours is.

I understand your feeling. There calling for a light snow here on Saturday. Praying that I will miss us

Hello @hopfarmnc,

Just wanted to say hi and let you know that your wonderful post have been picked up for the weekly Sustainability Curation Digest in association with Minnow Support Project.

Your post will be Upvoted and REsteemed by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #3 🌸🍄🌹 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much!!

Wow! Thanks for taking us through your garden and food forest! I have somewhat of a food haven in the making in my garden with a raspberry bush, strawberry plant, apple tree, cherry tree, and apricot tree! And soon a goji bush.

Nice! Sounds Great!!😊

You've got a beautiful spot. All that springish green just has my heart singing. :)

Hey @hopfarmnc! I enjoyed this springy update and featured you in my most recent curation vlog if you want to check it out :)
Take care,
@amymya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58