PLANTED THE RHUBARB!

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Took some time today to plant a perennial vegetable, Rhubarb, in our Hugelkultur garden beds.

The cool thing about perennial vegetables like rhubarb is that you put them in the ground once and they produce for you for many years. It's quite appealing to someone like myself that is trying to live more of a sustainable lifestyle!

image
There were Three rhubarb Roots per package. They look pretty good some of them were even starting to sprout in the bag.

image
Let the roots sit in a bucket of water while I was digging spots for them in the Hugelkultur Mounds. They were a little shriveled so we wanted to rehydrate them before putting them in the ground.

image
While the roots were soaking in the bucket of water I was picking out spots on the Hugelkultur beds and digging holes big enough to put the roots in. Was very pleased with the amount of earthworms I found in the beds!

image
After getting all the holes dug The Next Step was to put the rhubarb roots in the soil. Made sure to make the holes big enough so that when the rhubarb plant shoots out new Roots it has soft soil to go through.

image
When planting Roots like these make sure to leave the tip of the plant sticking out of the ground.

Last but not least put some sort of mulch over the plant. I will be coming through tomorrow and putting half decomposed leaves on all three of my Hugelkultur beds.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

This is so cool! Thank you for the inspiration!🙌💖

I had a rhubarb plant go to seed on me last year and I harvested every last one I could. I'll be planting a bunch from seed this year so my mom can sell some and I can plant more... you'd think 17 plants was enough but it turns out my rhubarb jelly is a popular seller. Plus you can't miss out on rhubarb desserts.

I'm definitely looking forward to the rhubarb desserts!

Two words: Rhubarb Champagne 💗💗💗

Sorry to be a little off topic here, but do your Hugelkultur beds keep their shape well? Do they need compost, do the worms make a difference in bed maintenance. I've had lots of raised beds but they always tend to flatten out.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

thehearthcomment.jpg

you had us at planting perennial veggies in a hugelkulture bed! YES! way to go implementing and sharing regenerative ag with steemit! we've resteemd your post @the-hearth, @mountainjewel's earth-based curation site. we hope many more people catch the drift of what you're doing here. thanks so much and excellent photo documentation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43