PLANTED SOME MORE SEEDS

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Planted two trays of 72 cells which will give me 144 seedlings in about 2 weeks. As long as I don't pull them out of the basement early and let them freeze.

The seeds we planted today are cool weather crops. Things like root crops and leafy greens. Plants like these can withstand the cool nights in early spring or late fall.

image
This flat was planted with arugula, collards and spinach. There will be 24 of each.

image
In this flat there is radishes, beets and turnips. I label the lid with the plant type. Realizing after I did it that it probably wasn't the smartest way to label them. I just have to remember which way I took the lid off. Lol

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

We're prepping to start seeds for the first time indoors. It's an exciting time of year, isn't it? What zone are you in? We are 6a.

I agree it's an exciting time of year! Where in zone 7b.

Thanks for sharing your tips and tricks.

Questions :

  • How much time before summer should we plan the seeds?
  • If I have only a balcony, what is the best vegetable to grow?
    • At the moment we only have aromatic stuff such as ciboulette, persil, romarin, sauge, thym and a tomato plant last year did well too.

Have a great weekend!

Depending on what type of plant you want to grow determines when you should plant the seeds. Not all plants are the same. herbs are great plants for balconies since they don't take up much room

Ok and if I'm interested in having 2-3 medium size growing area elevated at 1m to get more ligth that should have 30cm of dirt deep, 1.2 meter long and 60cm large, what should I consider growing.

We though of carrots, small zucchinis, peppers, cucomber.
We will also keep the tomato plant in a big vase which worked well the 2 last years, more well with cherry tomatoes.

Also, can you give an emoticon in the postPromotion of the Qurator Discord Channel?

Think about growing some carrots with your Tomatoes they grow well together. A cucumbers a good idea for a tight area as long as you have somewhere to Trellis it up so it doesn't run all over the place. I would definitely incorporate some sort of leafy green. Like kale, spinach some sort of lettuce. If you enjoy okra it is a good summertime plant that will grow in the dead of heat when not much else will.

I would say think of this when you're trying to companion plants. Interplant your cool weather crops first as your harvesting those put in your summer crops. I've grown tomatoes, lettuce, carrots and cucumbers all together before and it worked out quite well. It was a one stop salad shop. LOL

Not sure what emoticon is?

emoticon : Thumbs up on Qurator, as I upvoted and comented here to be allowed to put my post in the PostPromotion channel, I think I need your thumbs up or whatever so everything is ok.

Oh got you. Now you're just supposed to check up on someone tags you to make sure they did vote and comment. If they didn't then you report

I prefer not to be reported ;)
Event if my post are in French and probably won't be clicked and voted by many members of the Qurator community.

Since I'm a Quebequer from Canada living in Switzerland, the climate is really nice in Switzerland, temperature does go sometimes under 0 in winter in the valley, but it's quite rare. For snow we have to go in the mountains. Also with the mountains around, the vegetation is quite luxuriant with good rain and not too much drought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49