Planted A Few Hundred Seeds Today

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Planted quite a few seeds today. These pots are going to be growing warm weather crops. The plants will stay in the pots untill it is close 60 degrees over night. All of these "pots" were free. The green and blue buckets are food grade buckets from work that were going to be thrown away. There is large metal coffee cans, pots that were being given or thrown away and some from Plants I have bought over the years.
image
There is 10 Roma Tomatoes, 10 Margolbe Tomatoes, 10 California Peppers, 6 Zucchini, 6 Cucumber in these pots.
image
Starting some cool weather crops in these 72 cell seed starting trays. They will be transplanted in about two weeks.
image
One of the trays is nothing but Cauliflower. The other tray has three different types of Kale. Dinosaur Kale, Red Russian Kale and Blue Curled Kale.
image
I've had these small seed-starting trays for a few years now. As long as they hold together I'll keep using them.
image
Planted some Sea Fresh Lettuce in the small plastic trays. I will get a couple Harvest out of each one of these lettuce plants. Instead of pulling out the whole plant when it's ready to harvest if you cut the plant and leave about 1 inch sticking out of the ground it will regrow.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

I’m looking forward to starting up the planting soon. Just waiting for a bit more favorable weather. I know a few people who are looking to start to gardening too- both on and off Steemit -so these post are helpful!

Thank you. I hope everything grows like you wanted to!

Fun! We planted leaf crops today, and will do flower and roots tomorrow (trying out the biodynamic thing ;)

What are your favorite seed companies??

Thank you! Glad to hear you are growing some of your own food. Not sure if I have a favorite seed company yet.

Its always great to see what people are planting. One thing guaranteed...everyone loves kale!

Thank you! There's so many different types of kale that is not hard to find one you enjoy.

I got my tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers started a few days ago. I also got my potatoes, onions and, garlic in yesterday in some alternative planting containers. Yes, I strive to be different. LOL

Big difference a good thing! Sounds like you're growing a lot of food that's awesome!

I am trying. Nothing better than fresh right off the vine.

Kudos for reusing containers! I do this whenever possible.

The kids and I started some seeds a couple of weeks ago. At the moment we have tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, watermelon, cantaloupe, pumpkin, malabar spinach and jellymelon. I look forward to getting them planted outside!

Thank you. I try to you reuse as much as possible. I've never heard of a jellymelon what's it like?

It's actually in the cucumber family. If you've never seen it, do a quick search (it's very interesting). The fruit can be eaten raw or used in salsas, fruit salads, marinades, etc.

Sounds pretty cool. Going to have to check it out.

This time of your is so exciting! I always start looking for seedlings just a day or two after I plant them, knowing they won't be popping through the soil yet. But I get so excited, I just can't not look!

LOL. I do the same thing when I walk past seeds I just planted. I know there's not going to be anything popping up yet but I still look.

That's allot of planting, may you have a great harvest.

You just planted 0.27 tree(s)!


Thanks to @hopfarmnc

We have planted already 3779.83 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20767.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31