Planted 4 Types Of Raspberries Today

in #homesteading7 years ago

   Today I put 4 different types of Raspberries in the ground. Three Heritage, one Fall Gold, one Thornless Candy and one Thornless Joan J. We have so many wiled Blackberries on the property I figured Raspberries would do quite well. I'll show you how I planted them.


   First I dug a hole a lot bigger then the Raspberry plant. About three times as big. Digging a big hole loosens up the dirt to allow the roots of the plant to spread out easier as it is growing.


   The only thing I added to the hole was some well decomposed leaf compost and the Raspberry plant. :)


   After adding the leaf mold and filling the hole in pat down the soil to get any air pockets out. 


   Sorry for the pic quality took this one after dark. The last step was to add mulch. Added about 4 inches of wood chips and leafs. Didn't need to water them in because it has been sprinkling all day. If it is not raining you should water them in well.



THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!


FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc

https://www.hopfarmnc.com

https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC

Sort:  

Very cool! Still too early here (too wet to work the soil and there is definitely more winter on the way I'm sure) but I'll be putting in berries this year.

Good to hear. Berries are a great addition to any Homestead

Thank you So much @goldendawne!!! I don't think you understand how much I needed that right now!!!

Looks tasty, we really enjoy the golden variety on our homestead.

I've never tried to Golden variety only heard about them. Can't wait to try them for myself.

Outstanding berries are always a great additions to a homestead!!

Hey, I never saw yellow raspberries. Have they a different taste?

I have never tried them myself either but I heard they do taste differently. I'll let you know when I try one.

I am going to keep tab on your posts to see the progress of raspberry growth. :)


Rydhi
xox

Good article! We're looking to do berries along the fenceline that runs between ours and the neighbor's front lots. Upvoted, resteemed and following your adventures :)

Thank you @mamajeani. Following you you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80