OH YEAH I KNOW WHAT'S FOR DESSERT!! EVERYONE CAN START THEIR OWN U-PICK!

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Strawberries are one of my favorites straight off the vine. It's time to start picking every day so the Slugs & Bugs don't get to it before we do. I do use diatomaceous earth on our strawberry plants to help keep the bugs away but it doesn't stop them all.

image
We will get strawberries most of the year because I planted a few different varieties that ripen at different times of the year.

They're planted in our young Food Forest in Hugelkultur Garden beds. About 30 out of the 50 strawberry plants planted in the food Forest I started growing before we bought the property. I didn't have a whole lot of room when I lived in the city so I grew the strawberry plants in Old house gutters someone was throwing away.

image
You don't need to own land to grow your own strawberries. Even if all you have is a balcony in an apartment you can grow your own deliciously sweet organic strawberries because of how easy they grow in containers.

When a strawberry is picked at the peak of its ripeness There is almost no comparison to the ones you buy at the supermarket.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image

Sort:  

Mine have a few weeks to go 🤤

It'll be here before you know it.

The Berrys look very good. Selfed picked up strawberrys are anyway the best!

1 for the basket - 1 in my mouth :-) thats how i pick them up on our fields.

Up for post :-)

Hey I do the same thing when I'm picking. LOL

Inspiring me to go out and get a strawberry plant or two to start a patch out back!

Yay! I'm glad it is inspiring you! You should definitely get yourself some strawberry plants.

What’s the best way to grow it in a container? And what’s the best time to plant/ harvest?

If you don't have much room hanging basket works very well. The best time to plant would be a year ago the next best time is right now. What I'm saying is don't get hung up on when is the "best" time to plant. The best time is always now. You want to harvest them when they're deep red color.

Haha thanks !

why is strawberries your favourite??? I don't know but one thing I am sure is the strawberry is such a unique fruit........Is it the Aroma?? Taste??? Talk About the nutrient.....Are you aware that Strawberries are low in calories, rich in fiber, vitamins and minerals such as vitamin C, folic acid, potassium and are packed with antioxidants, such as anthocyanins, and quercetin.

Aaaa Thanks?

it looks very rich excellent publication greetings

Thank you. Yes the very delicious and juicy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55