Trouble Making Racoons!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


These two Raccoons in this video have been giving me all kinds of trouble!! They have taken three of my chickens and I think they are responsible for a duck attack.

I chased one of them up a tree last night and was able to get a shot on him. So one down one more to go. I'm hoping that the one that is left will just stay away since he doesn't have his partner in crime!

These Arlo cameras have been a help. They give me an alert when there is movement so I can go out and check on the birds.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!
FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Sometimes animals have to be culled. Dogs roaming your farm is the best think to keep animals away. There is a lot of wildlife around our farm but it all keeps its distance because of our German shorthaired pointers.

Farm dogs definitely in the plans for the future. I just have to get are perimeter fence finished so the dog stays on our property doesn't wander all over the place

Our son lives in Portland OR and he has raccoons but no livestock so they haven't been a problem. Foxes are the creatures that take poultry in the UK. Traditional fox hunting has been banned for probably 12 years so the foxes multiply. People go out at night with powerful lamps and shoot them...'lamping' Yes the video is playing

Does lamping work?

Are you trying to trap them? We've trapped raccoons that were sniffing around the chicken coop, but we had a wary wise old rascal last summer that ruined probably a quarter of our corn over the course of a month. The Husband had 2 traps out there and tried a variety of bait (including fresh corn!) and that critter knew to stay away from them and eat corn on the stalk instead. We didn't think to put out a game camera.

Yes I've tried trapping them. But as you pointed out raccoons are really hard to trap. The only thing I caught in the traps were possum. Plus I don't know what I would do with them after I trap them. Just released them on someone else's land for them to be there problem?

I guess it depends on your state. In ours it's legal to "humanely dispatch" them, and actually illegal to relocate them!

I understand where you're coming from. I have more of a voluntaryism look on life so I usually don't worry much about what the laws tell me I have to do. But thanks for the suggestion.

I usually don't worry much about what the laws tell me I have to do

^^^ LOL, I won't confirm or deny that we have the same attitude...what I posted was "suitable for the internet" haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63