I DON'T MIND BLACK SNAKES ON THE FARM AS LONG AS THEY STAY AWAY FROM MY CHICKENS

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Caught these two black snakes playing with each other. They found a hole in a tree where Floppy our boar is right now.

Last week I caught one of the black snakes curled up with Floppy in between his legs. I don't know if he knew it was there or if they were just hanging out together. LOL

image
These snakes can stay around as long as they like. We have plenty of mice, voles, field rats, frogs and lizards for them to take care of. Now if they start messing with my chickens and eggs then they may have to be relocated.

image
Black snakes are not poisonous but it wouldn't be pleasant getting bit by one. They carry bacteria and getting bit by one could lead to a pretty nasty infection.

Black snakes can also eat other snakes. Like the more dangerous poisonous varietys. But don't let that lead you in being too comfortable. Just because there's black snakes around doesn't mean there's not poisonous snakes. Black snakes will also befriend poisonous snakes especially during the colder months to keep warm.

image
Black snakes have very few predators when they get to this size besides humans. Which in my opinion makes them King of the snakes in central and Eastern USA. If nothing eats you but you can eat what ever you can fit in your mouth I think that puts you at the top in the animal world.

Sort:  

Those are some serious serpents you got there. I’d leave them too 😃

Thanks. They're pretty much harmless.

I would relocate them if they get in the way.

So far so good. They're staying away from the chickens and their eggs.

My dad let a black snake live in his barn to help with mice. I caught it a few times. There seems to be something in their saliva that makes the bit hurt worse. Maybe it's just in my head, but I've wondered if it's some kind of venom precursor.

I don't think they have any Venom at least not the black rat snake. There are some black snakes that have venom. Leaving the black rat snakes carry bacteria in their mouth and that can get pretty nasty

definitely no venom. I thought it might be bacteria too. There something on top of the bite causing pain. My dad got a good laugh out of it.

Lol. I'm sure he did. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54