How I Threw Together Two 8 Foot Wide 20 Yards Long Garden Beds

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
Making a couple of garden beds just for leafy greens. Plan on having a few different types of lettuce. Some cut-and-come-again varieties and varieties like romaine and iceberg that form heads. They're will also be spinach, blue kale and red Russian kale.

image
The grass and weeds were cleared by my pigs. Then I laid cardboard 8 feet wide and about 20 yards long to block out any grass and weeds that may try to grow back.

image
On top of the cardboard I layered 3 to 4 inches of compost. The leafy greens don't have a very deep root system so 4 inches of compost should be good.

I will be planting a lot of seeds the end of this week into one of these beds. I'll bring you along with me and show you how I plant the seeds and keep you posted on how they're growing.

THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
image

Sort:  

Please explain the cardbord thing - is there just to block grass and weeds that may try to grow back? Does any paper material work for this? how long till it decomposes? I gues next season there will be nothing left from it. Does it have any nutrition in it as wel?

Yes I'm using it in this situation to block out the grass and weeds. Any paper material will work. If it's newspaper you may just have to put more layers as it's not as thick as cardboard. So it will take the cardboard about a year to decompose. Not real sure on the nutritional value but I know it's a worm magnet and having worms in your garden is always a positive.

Very nice! I have an area that I am hoping to turn into beds as well out back, but it hasn't been cleaned out by piggies. I hope if i put enough cardboard and then wood chips down it'll keep the grasses from growing.
Hope this does well, looking forward to lush green updates :)

It should work for you as well. The post I made right before this one explain how I made other garden beds using cardboard as the base to block out grass and weeds

I have constructed a few lasagna beds myself, did you not water the cardboard thoroughly? Was under the impression that it is important, for the roots and to speed up the cardboards decomposition. Could be different where greens are concerned?

It's been raining for like a week straight here. So mother nature did that part for me.

look at that beautiful dirt... Thanks!

Russian red kale is my favorite!

I have to say my favorite kale is the curly blue

I have not tried it yet. I refuse to buy kale from the store since it is always old and bitter. My kale is sweet and fresh. I will have to try the blue this fall, I already have my RRK in for the spring, and my fall crop is still growing. How does the blue overwinter?

You blue does very well over winter

Congratulations! You are now an Official Featured Blogger on Sotall.org. This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. You can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74