Harvesting Wild Blackberries 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

c11.png

So last year we did something different here on the homestead.... We let our weeds grow. Not only did it save us time last year (since we were not having to cut the grass) but this year it also provided us a great early summer treat- Blackberries!

This is such an awesome addition to our homestead and it did not require an ounce of effort, planning, or time. We simply neglected the grass and it decided to reward us for it! (If only this happened in other areas of my life like laundry that washes and folds itself or dinner that does its' own dishes) The only thing I had to do was be observant.

c2.jpg

As soon as the grass got over a few inches the weeds started growing rampant. The leaves on the blackberries plant - along with those painful thorns - stuck out instantly!! These wild blackberry stems GROW FAST, they shoot straight up the first year but produce nothing. So we waited...

KIMG2561.JPG

It has been almost a year in the making and last week it was finally time. Day by day I watched them grow patiently awaiting this very moment! I have been picking blackberries everyday and have a feeling I will be at this everyday for at least the next month.

I am so excited to have an abundance of fresh fruit daily growing itself in my yard!

These weeds are providing for my families' needs- @HomesteadinMama

If you like what you read follow me @HomesteadinMama
All photos are 100% original photos taken by me

20180516_002249_0001.png
Click this banner for all you Mamas who are interested

Sort:  

We did the same thing this year, we let our grass and white clover grow until white clover died naturally. We were also rewarded with lots of wild blackberries.

We simply neglected the grass and it decided to reward us for it! (If only this happened in other areas of my life like laundry that washes and folds itself or dinner that does its' own dishes) The only thing I had to do was be observant.

So true, so true!

I love when nature does its' own beautiful thing!

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :) If the link which you selected to share with us was a little too old, we have selected a newer one to support.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50